Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Nate Leonard added to Dave Rimmington Trophy watch list

Nate Leonard celebrates good work
Nate Leonard celebrates good work
courtesy UTSA Athletics

Nate Leonard has received his second pre-season honor as he was named to the 2014 Dave Rimmington Trophy watch list, the committee announced on Tuesday.

The Rimmington trophy, named after former All-America Center, Dave Rimmington, is awarded to the most outstanding center in the Football Bowl Subdivision.

After earning preseason second-team All-CUSA honors from Athlon Sports’ college football preview, Leonard is certainly being tabbed for a big year.

Leonard is the only Roadrunner to start every single game in UTSA history, and enters his senior year with an impressive record in his junior year. In 2013 he manage 70 knockdown blocks, 10 coming in a career high night against Rice, while forming a vital part of the offensive line.

His blocking proved vital in 2013 as the UTSA offense managed averages of 25.6 points, 417.8 total yards, 21.9 first downs and 32:24 in possession in their games in the 2013 season.

While academic prowess is not, strictly, a criteria of the award Leonard certainly also excels in that area as well, becoming the first UTSA Football player to earn Academic All-American honors as he was named to the second-team in 2013, while also being named an Academic All District VII first-team honoree.

The 2013 winner of the award was Florida State’s Bryan Stork, becoming the 15th winner of the award after the award began in 2000, and had a tie in 2004, while Alabama are the only school to have produced two winners.

The award will be given to the center who has the most picks from three All-America teams, with the Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America All-America teams will be where the votes come from.

Only the first-team votes will be considered, however if there is a tie amongst those first team votes, second votes will be considered and if still tied, the ten person committee will decide the winner.

Report this ad