Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

NASCAR: Marcos Ambrose wins Watkins Glen Zippo 200 10th anniversary race

See also

Australian driver Marcos Ambrose grabbed the checkered flag on Saturday, August 9, to win the 10th anniversary Zippo 200 race in the NASCAR Nationwide series at Watkins Glen.

More Photos

Ambrose, driving the No. 09 Stanley Ford for Richard Petty Motorsports (RPM), led the race for 48 laps. He is now tied with Terry Labonte for career NASCAR Nationwide Series victories at Watkins Glen International. Ambrose has won four out of five NASCAR Nationwide Series races entered at The Glen.

Ambrose started fourth behind pole-sitter and 2013 Zippo 200 Champion, Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano, and 2013 Cheez-It 355 at The Glen Champion, Kyle Busch.

In receiving his gold lighter and sizable Zippo trophy, Ambrose commented, "It is a fantastic day for RPM. The King is here. It is just great to celebrate Victory Lane with him. For all he has been through personally this year and now our team making the Chase with the No. 43 and now winning a race in the Nationwide Series."

No. 43 is driven by Ambrose team-mate in the Sprint Cup series, Aric Almirola, who won the Coke Zero 400 at Daytona earlier in the season.

Zippo is a long-time sponsor of the race at Watkins Glen, celebrating its 10th anniversary of doing so in 2014. The Batavia, N.Y.-based company manufactures reusable metal lighters.

NASCAR Nationwide Series regular and Cato, N.Y.-native Regan Smith finished 17th in the Zippo 200 after starting fifth.

Ambrose has won the Nationwide Series Zippo 200 at The Glen now in 2014, 2010, 2009, and 2008. Other winners besides Keselowski in 2013 include Carl Edwards in 2012; Kurt Busch in 2011 and 2006; Kevin Harvick in 2007; and Ryan Newman in 2005.