Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

NASCAR drivers with most wins in the STP 500 at Martinsville

See also

The following is a list of the NASCAR drivers with the most wins in the STP 500, which is a NASCAR Sprint Cup race run annually at Martinsville Speedway in Ridgeway, Virginia, which is just outside the town of Martinsville in southwest Virginia.

The STP 500 has been run annually since 1949, making it the oldest NASCAR race still being run today. Over the years, the race has had many different names and sponsors.

The race went without a name for its first seven years, and then was called the Virginia 500 for 25 years. Since then, the race has been sponsored by many different companies and brands including Virginia National Bank, Sovran Bank, Hanes, Goody's, Advance Auto Parts, and Direct TV.

STP took over sponsorship in 2013, and the race is now called the STP 500. Some people also just refer to the race as the Martinsville 500.

NASCAR drivers with most wins in the STP 500 at Martinsville

1. Richard Petty - 9

NASCAR's all-time leading winner, Richard Petty, has the most wins in the STP 500 at Martinsville with nine. Richard Petty won the race in 1960, 1962, 1963, 1967, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1975 and 1979.

In his NASCAR Sprint Cup career, Richard Petty won 200 races in 1,184 starts.

T-2. Rusty Wallace - 5

Rusty Wallace won the STP 500 at Martinsville for four consecutive years from 1993 to 1996, and he also won in 2004, for five total wins. In his NASCAR career, Rusty Wallace won 55 Sprint Cup races in 706 starts.

T-2. Darrell Waltrip - 5

Darrell Waltrip is tied with Rusty Wallace for the second most wins in the STP 500 with five. Waltrip won in 1976, 1978, 1980, 1983, and 1989. In his NASCAR career, Darrell Waltrip won 84 races in 809 starts.

T-4. Jimmie Johnson - 3

So far in his NASCAR career, Jimmie Johnson has won the STP 500 three times. Jimmie Johnson won the race in 2007, 2009, and 2013. Jimmie Johnson is obviously a huge threat to move up on this list.

T-4. Jeff Gordon - 3

Jeff Gordon won the STP 500 at Martinsville in 1997, 2003, and 2005. Will Jeff Gordon ever win this race again? He did win the fall race at Martinsville in 2013.

T-4. Dale Earnhardt - 3

The great Dale Earnhardt won this race in 1987, 1988, and 1991. In his NASCAR Sprint Cup career, Dale Earnhardt won 76 races in 676 starts.

T-4. Cale Yarborough - 3

NASCAR legend Cale Yarborough won this race in 1968, 1974, and 1977. For his career, Cale Yaborough won 83 races in 560 starts.



  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen has Alzheimer's disease, will step down
    NFL News
  • Sam responds to Dungy
    Michael Sam has the perfect response to Tony Dungy's controversial comments
    NFL News
  • Bella wardrobe malfunction
    Sexy diva Nikki Bella suffers wardrobe malfunction during WWE show
    Fight Sports
  • LeBron gives cupcakes
    LeBron James sends cupcakes to neighbors after press overtakes neighborhood
    Food & Drink