Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

NASCAR drivers with most wins in Bojangles Southern 500 at Darlington Raceway

See also

The following is a list of the NASCAR drivers with the most wins in the Bojangles Southern 500 at Darlington Raceway. The Bojangles Southern 500 is a NASCAR Sprint Cup race that has been run annually since 1950 at Darlington Raceway in Darlington, South Carolina.

The race has had many different names over the years, including the Dodge Charger, Dodge Avenger, and Dodge Challenger, as well as the GoDaddy dot com and the Showtime Southern 500. Bojangles has been the sponsor since 2012.

NASCAR drivers with most wins in the Bojangles Southern 500 at Darlington Raceway

1. David Pearson - 7 wins

David Pearson holds the NASCAR record for most wins in the Bojangles Southern 500 with seven. Pearson won the race in 1968, 1970, 1972-1974, 1976, and 1980.

In 1979, David Pearson wanted two tires replaced on lap 302 during the race, but his pit crew loosened the nuts for all four tires and when Pearson sped away after getting two new tires, the other loosened tires flew off the car and ended his race.

David Pearson was one of the most successful NASCAR drivers of all time. He won 105 races in just 571 career starts.

2. Dale Earnhardt - 6

Dale Earnhardt won the Bojangles Southern 500 in 1982, 1986, 1987, 1990, 1993, and 1994. In his career, Dale Earnhardt won 76 races in 676 starts.

3. Darrell Waltrip - 4

Darrell Waltrip won the race in 1977, 1979, 1981, and 1984. For his career, Darrell Waltrip won 84 NASCAR Sprint Cup races in 809 starts.

T-4. Dale Jarrett - 3

Dale Jarrett won the Bojangles Southern 500 in 1997, 1998, and 2001. In his career, Dale Jarrett won 32 races in 668 starts.

T-4. Herb Thomas - 3

Herb Thomas won the race in 1951, 1954, and 1955. Herb Thomas won 48 races in just 228 starts back in the early days of NASCAR.

Active NASCAR drivers with most wins in Bojangles 500

Jimmie Johnson won the race in 2004 and 2012

  • Jeff Gordon - 2

Jeff Gordon won the race in 1996 and 2007.

  • Greg Biffle - 2

Greg Biggle won the race in consecutive years in 2005 and 2006.



  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen has Alzheimer's disease, will step down
    NFL News
  • Sam responds to Dungy
    Michael Sam has the perfect response to Tony Dungy's controversial comments
    NFL News
  • Bella wardrobe malfunction
    Sexy diva Nikki Bella suffers wardrobe malfunction during WWE show
    Fight Sports
  • LeBron gives cupcakes
    LeBron James sends cupcakes to neighbors after press overtakes neighborhood
    Food & Drink