Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

NASCAR drivers who have won the Daytona 500 the most times

See also

The following is a list of the NASCAR drivers who have won the Daytona 500 the most times. Winning the Daytona 500 is a great accomplishment for any NASCAR driver, and every driver on this list has won the race at least two times.

The Daytona 500 has been run annually since 1959. The father of one of the NASCAR drivers on this list won the inaugural Daytona 500 in 1959, even though he was not named the winner of the race until three days after the race because a lapped driver's car blocked NASCAR's photo finish camera as the winner, second place finisher and the lapped car all crossed the finish line three abreast.

NASCAR drivers who have won the Daytona 500 the most times

1. Richard Petty - 7

NASCAR great Richard Petty holds the record for most wins at the Daytona 500 with seven. Petty won the Daytona 500 in 1964, 1966, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1979, and 1981.

In addition to his record seven wins at the Daytona 500, Richard Petty is tied with Cale Yarborough (1983 and 1984) and Sterling Marlin (1994 and 1995) for the most consecutive wins at the Daytona 500 with two. Richard Petty's father, Lee Petty, won the Daytona 500 in 1959 in a photo finish over Johnny Beauchamp.

Leading up to the 2014 Daytona 500, Richard Petty has been in the news because he said that Danica Patrick could only win a sprint cup race if all the other drivers stayed home. Even when he made the statement, though, Petty did acknowledge how great Danica Patrick is for NASCAR because she gets people interested in the sport. Danica Patrick started out as a Indy car driver, and just switched to NASCAR a couple years ago.

2. Cale Yarborough - 4

Cale Yarborough, another NASCAR legend, has the second most wins at the Daytona 500 with four. Yarborough won the Daytona 500 in 1968, 1977, and as mentioned above, consecutively in 1983 and 1984.

T-3. Jeff Gordon - 3

Current NASCAR driver Jeff Gordon is tied for the third most wins at the Daytona 500 with three. Gordon won the race in 1997, 1999, and 2005.

Jeff Gordon is the only active NASCAR driver with three or more wins at the Daytona 500, but it sounds like Gordon is thinking of retiring in the not too distant future. If he wants to move up this list he better win another Daytona 500 soon.

T-3. Dale Jarrett - 3

Dale Jarrett won the Daytona 500 in 1993, 1996, and 2000.

T-3. Bobby Allison - 3

Bobby Allison won the Daytona 500 in 1978, 1982, and 1988.

T-6. Jimmie Johnson - 2 (2006 and 2013)

Defending Daytona 500 champion Jimmie Johnson is looking to become the fourth NASCAR driver to win the Daytona 500 in back-to-back years in 2014.

T-6. Matt Kenseth - 2 (2009 and 2012)

T-6. Michael Waltrip - 2 (2001 and 2003)

T-6. Sterling Marlin - 2 (1994 and 1995)

As mentioned above, Sterling Marlin is one of only three NASCAR drivers to win the Daytona 500 in back-to-back years.

T-6. Bill Elliott - 2 (1985 and 1987)

T-6. Dale Earnhardt, Jr. - 2 (2004 and 2014)



  • The New York Yankees turn the first triple play of the 2014 season
    Watch Video
  • A big third period from the Rangers propel them past Philly in Game 1
  • Donovan McNabb serves time in jail stemming from a December DUI
    NFL News
  • Interview with Bernard Hopkins: 'I'm from Mars, but I fight here on Earth'
  • Are you as excited as LeBron about the NBA Playoffs? We seriously doubt it
  • New details have emerged about the friendly-fire incident that killed Pat Tillman
    Watch Video

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!