Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

NASCAR drivers who have won the 5-hour Energy 400 at Kansas Speedway

See also

The following is a list of the NASCAR drivers who have won the 5-hour Energy 400 Sprint Cup race which is run annually at the Kansas Speedway in Kansas City, Kansas. This is a young race on the NASCAR circuit, as it was first run in 2011.

The 5-hour Energy 400 was previously called the STP 400 for the first three years of the race. The race's new sponsor is the energy shot brand 5-hour Energy which is manufactured by Living Essentials.

Technically, the name of the race this year will be the 5-hour Energy 400 Benefiting Special Operations Warrior Fund. Living Essentials is donating five cents from every sale of specially marked red, white, and blue cherry flavored 5-hour Energy drinks to the Special Operations Warrior Fund from May 1st to July 31, 2014.

The 5-hour Energy 400 is usually run in late April or early May, and the race will be run under the lights for the first time in 2014. It is one of two NASCAR Sprint Cup races run at the Kansas Speedway annually, with the other race being the Hollywood Casino 400, which is run in the fall.

NASCAR drivers who have won the 5-hour Energy 400 at Kansas Speedway

  • Brad Keselowski in 2011

Brad Keselowski won the inaugural running of this race in 2011. Keselowski won in 2011 because he was able to run of fumes and he stayed out on the track while his main competitors headed to pit row for gas near the end of the race.

  • Denny Hamlin in 2012

Denny Hamlin won the second running of this race in 2012, holding off Martin Truex, Jr., who had led for a race-high 173 laps, for the final few laps.

Matt Kenseth won the third running of this race in 2013.



  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Hottest WNBA players
    Dig in to this WNBA slideshow and see what has Drake so hot and bothered
    20 Photos
  • Feeling groovy: The truth about Adam Wainwright and the grooved Derek Jeter pitch
    MLB News
  • Rory's dad cashes in
    Rory McIlroy's dad Gerry cashes in on $342,000 bet on son's British Open win
  • Bob Burnquist interview
    Examiner exclusive: Skateboarding legend Bob Burnquist talks Dew Tour and Toyota
  • 40-year-old cheerleader
    40-year-old mom Kriste Lewis becomes New Orleans Saints cheerleader
    NFL News