Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

NASCAR drivers conspicuously missing from Rolex 24 line-up

See also

Although Muscle Milk Pickett Racing and its new partner Nissan have announced its participation in the Rolex 24 at Daytona, January , so far the event is lacking its usual array of NASCAR stars such as Greg Biffle, Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Girdon and Dale Earnhardt Jr., etc. In fact, the only confirmed Sprint car drivers for this event are Earnhardt Ganassi Racing’s Kyle Larson and Jamie McMurray and Kyle Larson. However it is expected that JTG Daugherty’s AJ Allmendinger will confirmed as driving there with Michael Shank Racing.

McMurray has participated in five Rolex 24 starts, coming in 2nd in 2011, while this will be Larson’s first 24-hour event..

“I didn’t think I’d have the opportunity to do it this year,” Larson said. “As far as 3-4 a.m. shifts, I’m usually out that late anyway, so bring it on.”

Ganassi is further “stacking their deck” by running with Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas as the full-season drivers in addition to defending Firestone Indy Lights champion, Sage Karam, while the 02 Prototype will feature both of Ganassi's Target team drivers Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan. It should also be noted that Dario Francitti’s young brother, Marino will also be part of the Ganassi line-up.

Other IndyCar drivers expected to participate January 25-26 at the Daytona event will be 2012 Champion Ryan Hunter-Reay who will be hoining forced with Rob Bell for factory SRT Motorsports team, as Townsend Bell (Level 5 GT Daytona), Ryan Briscoe (Corvette Racing GT Le Mans), . Sebastien Bourdais (Action Express Prototype), Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Prototype), Simon Pagenaud (Extreme Speed Prototype), Justin Wilson (Michael Shank Prototype), and Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Prototype.



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Peyton Manning dancing
    Peyton Manning shows off his formidable dancing skills at training camp
    NFL News
  • Bagwell becoming porn star
    Buff Bagwell has the stuff, but his Vivid dreams have not come true just yet
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court