Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

NASCAR Champion's Week Day 4

NASCAR Champion's Week continued with several events held Thursday in Las Vegas. Four-time champ Jimmie Johnson says he sees a lot of positive results from the decision to move the festivities to Vegas.

More Photos

“The fan turnouts for all of the events have been phenomenal, especially for a first year,” said Johnson during Thursday’s events which included the annual NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Awards, Top 12 Victory Lap Parade, NASCAR After the Lap Presented by Tissot and SIRIUS XM’s ‘Stewie Awards.’ “With the TV package, (fan) access to NASCAR is growing and Champion’s Week in the years to come can only get bigger and better.”

Brian France, CEO and Chairman of NASCAR also praised this year's event, and promised fans that NASCAR would continue to deliver the most exciting racing possible in the years ahead.

"We will continue to do everything possible as an industry to thank them for the commitment to the sport and to give them the kind of racing, personalities and excitement they expect from their NASCAR," France said. “As we head into 2010, we will continue to focus on what’s most important – delivering the best possible racing to the fans.”

Also on Thursday Dale Earnhardt Jr. was named Chex Cereals Most Popular Driver for the seventh time.

Below is the complete list of Thursday’s award winners:

Buddy Shuman Award – Dale Inman

NASCAR Home Depot Humanitarian Award – Michigan International Speedway

NMPA Myers Brothers Award – Barney Hall

Chex Cereals Most Popular Driver Award – Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Raybestos Rookie of the Year Award – Joey Logano

DirecTV Crew Chief of the Year Award – Darian Grubb

Dow Automotive Strategic Call of the Race Award – Jimmie Johnson

Moog Chassis Parts Problem Solver of the Year Award – Drew Blickensderfer

MAHLE Clevite Engine Builder of the Year Award – Hendrick Motorsports

Mechanix Wear Most Valuable Pit Award – No. 42 team

Mobil 1 Command Performance Award – Juan Pablo Montoya
O’Reilly Parts People, Services and Performance Award – Denny Hamlin

Goodyear Gatorback Fastest Lap Award – Jimmie Johnson

Tissot Pit Road Precision Award – No. 16 team
WIX Filters Lap Leader Award – Tony Stewart

Coors Light Pole Award – Mark Martin

Sunoco Diamond Performance Award – Jimmie Johnson

Goodyear Award – Jimmie Johnson

Championship Sponsor Award – Lowe’s

Champion Crew Chief Award – Chad Knaus