Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

NASCAR 2014 101: Who went where in the Cup Series?

See also

“Silly season” in NASCAR is nothing new, but it seems to get more and more complicated each year, with drivers announcing their intentions well before the previous season is over. Here’s a look at some of the major moves in NASCAR’s Sprint cup Series for the 2014 season.

· Stewart-Haas Racing – Ryan Newman is out, Kevin Harvick (No. 4) and Kurt Busch (No. 41) are in.

· Richard Childress Racing – Harvick and Jeff Burton are out, Newman (No. 31) and Austin Dillon (No. 3) are in.

· Furniture Row Racing – Busch is out, Martin Truex Jr. (No. 78) is in.

· Michael Waltrip Racing – Truex Jr. and Mark Martin are out; Brian Vickers (No. 55) is in, as are Michael Waltrip, Burton and Joe Nemechek, splitting the No. 66 ride.

· Chip Ganassi Racing – Juan Pablo Montoya is out (and back to IndyCar), rookie Kyle Larson (No. 42) is in.

· BK Racing – Travis Kvapil and David Reutimann are out; rookies Ryan Truex (No. 83) and Alex Bowman (No. 23) are in, as is Morgan Shepherd (No. 93) in a part-time ride.

· Tommy Baldwin Racing – Dave Blaney and JJ Yeley are out, Reed Sorenson (No. 36) and rookie Michael Annett (No. 7) are in.

· JTG Daugherty Racing – Bobby Labonte is out, AJ Allmendinger (No. 47) is in.

Find the entry list for the season-opening Daytona 500 here.

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at



  • Legendary swimmer Michael Phelps is coming out of retirement, will he compete in Rio?
    Recreational Sports
  • Check out the NHL Ice Girls that are heating up rinks all across the country
    20 Photos
  • St. Louis Rams offer $100k if you can guess their 2014 schedule correctly
    NFL News
  • Eagles running back LeSean McCoy slams Tim Tebow on Twitter
    NFL News
  • Never watched rugby before? Here's 20 reasons you should start
    20 Photos
  • UFC champ Jon Jones denies posting homophobic comments on Instagram
    Fight Sports

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!