Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

NASCAR 2014 101: The Sprint Unlimited goes back to its roots

See also

The Sprint Unlimited, although only called such for the past two seasons, has been around since 1979. Originally known as the Busch Clash (1979 to 1997), then later as the Bud Shootout (1998 to 2000) and the Budweiser Shootout (2001 to 2012), the specialty preseason race is a non-points, no-holds-barred, Saturday night shootout which went back to basics for the most recent editions: all the pole winners from the previous season and previous winners of the Sprint Unlimited/Bud Shootout/Busch Clash.

The following drivers are entered in this year’s Sprint Unlimited at Daytona (alphabetical order):

· Marcos Ambrose

· Kurt Busch

· Kyle Busch

· Dale Earnhardt Jr.

· Carl Edwards

· Jeff Gordon

· Denny Hamlin

· Kevin Harvick

· Jimmie Johnson

· Matt Kenseth

· Brad Keselowski

· Terry Labonte

· Joey Logano

· Jamie McMurray

· Ryan Newman

· Tony Stewart

Jeff Gordon leads all active drivers with 20 appearances in the Sprint Unlimited. Kevin Harvick and Tony Stewart lead active drivers with three wins each.

Keep up with the action at

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at



  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen has Alzheimer's disease, will step down
    NFL News
  • Sam responds to Dungy
    Michael Sam has the perfect response to Tony Dungy's controversial comments
    NFL News
  • Bella wardrobe malfunction
    Sexy diva Nikki Bella suffers wardrobe malfunction during WWE show
    Fight Sports
  • LeBron gives cupcakes
    LeBron James sends cupcakes to neighbors after press overtakes neighborhood
    Food & Drink