Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Performing Arts

Musical ‘NO DOGS ALLOWED!’ brings learning fun to young Kansas Citians

See also

"NO DOGS ALLOWED!” a new musical for children, comes to City Stage in the lower level of Kansas City’s historic Union Station and makes its Midwest premiere on April 22, a spokesman for Theater for Young America said, on April 17.

This will be the Midwest premier of a charming new musical based on the award-winning book by Sonia Manzano, Alexandria Washington, customer relations manager for Theatre for Young America, said. Manzano, plays Maria on Sesame Street.

The music for “NO DOGS ALLOWED!” was composed by Stephen Lawrence with lyrics by Bill Aronson. The show, produced by Theatre for Young America features many of their regular actors.

In the play, Iris, a young Puerto Rican girl who narrates the musical, tells about a car trip she made with her large funny extended family for a day at a state park. Although her Papi says she cannot bring El Exigente, her dog, she sneaks him in the car. After car trouble where everyone has to pitch in to get started again, they arrive at the park and it has a big sign that says “NO DOGS ALLOWED!”

The play teaches how to work together to make the best of difficult circumstances. The family just makes the best of the situation and takes turns playing outside the park with El Exigente while each family member gets to do what they had planned, Washington said.

The cast includes: Lena Andrews, Wil Andrews-Weiss, Mia Hedgpeth-Guerra, Eric Johansen, Jami Lenati, Josie Lenati, Isaac Robinson, Nicole Santorella, and Bradley J. Thomas.

“NO DOGS ALLOWED!” contains curriculumum connections for Live theatre, Latino culture, Spanish and English vocabulary, problem-solving, cooperation. The show is targeted for preschool and up.

Single tickets and group reservations may be reserved online at or by calling Union Station at 816.460.2020, or Theatre for Young America at 816.460.2083. The single ticket price is $9. Groups of 15 or more are $5.50 per person with a reservation. Season tickets are available or by calling 816.460.2083.

The performance schedule for “NO DOGS ALLOWED!” follows: Most morning performances begin at 10 a.m. on April, 22, 23, 25, 29, 30; May 1, 2,6, 7, 8, 9, 13, 14,15, 16. Noon performances are planned for April 24, 25; May 2, 3, 9, 15, 16. Performances at 2 p.m. fall on April 26, May 3, 10, and 17. An evening performance is planned for May 9 at 7 p.m.