Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Music in the Mishkan concludes its 2014 season next month

See also

Next month will begin with the last of the three concerts in the 2014 season of the Music in the Mishkan series produced by Music Director and violinist Randall Weiss. Soprano Sharon Bernstein, Cantor for Congregation Sha’ar Zahav, which hosts this recital series as a platform for Jewish composers, will return as guest artist to sing another selection of Yiddish songs, this time by Mark Warshawsky, for which she will again accompany herself at the piano. Warshawsky’s best-known song is probably “Oyfn Pripetshik” (on the hearth), which was included in the soundtrack of Schindler’s List.

Bernstein’s performance will be both preceded and followed by piano trios for which the pianist will be Marilyn Thompson, joining Weiss and cellist Robert Howard. The opening selection will be Ludwig van Beethoven’s G major trio, the second in his Opus 1 set of three. The program will conclude with Antonín Dvořák’s Opus 65 trio in F minor.

This performance will begin at 4 p.m. on Sunday, June 1, and last about two hours. It will be followed by a reception featuring wine, cheese, and some of the delights of Jewish cooking. Congregation Sha’ar Zahav is located at 290 Dolores Street at the southeast corner of 16th Street. Single tickets cost $20 and $15 for members of the synagogue. There is also a hyperlink from the Events Web page for this concert from which tickets may be purchased online. Further information is available by calling 415-861-6932.


Today's top buzz...

  • Ted Nugent
    Ted Nugent concert at Native American casino canceled because of obvious reasons
    Music Buzz
  • NFL
    Pat Bowlen steps down as Broncos owner following Alzheimer's diagnosis
    NFL Buzz
  • Tina Fey
    See why Tina Fey is possibly the most popular woman in comedy at the moment
    Today's Buzz
  • Mick Jagger
    Mick Jagger promotes 'Get On Up' in New York, including Apollo Theater premiere
    20 Photos
  • Boyhood
    The new film 'Boyhood' chronicles twelve years of one boy's life
    19 Photos
  • Buffy
    We're counting down ten of the finest episodes of ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’
    7 Photos