Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Mr. T to join WWE Hall of Fame

Mr. T. has been announced as the sixth entrant into the WWE Hall of Fame 2014.

Mr. T to join WWE Hall of Fame
promotional image

The announcement was made Monday, March 17, on TMZ and was formally announced on Monday Night RAW later that evening.

Mr. T (born Laurence Tureaud) is a television star and all across pop culture personality who was a major part of the 1980s. He got his first major break when he was cast as Clubber Lang opposite Sylvester Stallone in the 1982 film Rocky III. He also starred as B.A. Baracus in the television series The A-Team.

By that point, Mr. T was a household name and a pop culture icon. All of the projects that followed centered around the persona and “brand” that Mr. T had built for himself, including the traditional African Mandinka hairstyle, the gold jewelry and the catchphrase, “I pity the fool.”

But it was his appearances in WWE that earned this spot in the celebrity wing of the Hall of Fame.

In 1985 he teamed with Hulk Hogan at the inaugural WrestleMania in a tag team battle against fellow Hall of Famers Rowdy Roddy Piper and Paul Orndorff. The match and the entire event was at the zeitgeist of pop culture at the time, with Hogan, T and the entire WWE machine appearing on MTV and Hogan and Mr. T even hosting “Saturday Night Live” the night before WrestleMania.

He remained a part of the WWF machine following the first WrestleMania and returned for WrestleMania 2, where he battled Roddy Piper in a staged boxing match.

From that point on, Mr. T became a favorite in the pro wrestling industry, popping up occasionally. At WCW Halloween Havoc ’94 he accompanied Hogan in his Steel Cage bout against Ric Flair and later defeated Kevin Sullivan in a one-on-one bout at Starrcade ’94 in December.

Ever since WWE introduced the Celebrity Wing of the Hall of Fame back in 2004, Mr. T has been one of the most requested inductions by fans and wrestlers alike. Mr. T is truly deserving of this absurd honor and was a big part of the incredibly profitable “Rock ‘n’ Wrestling Era” of the mid ‘80s.

He will join other luminaries in the Celebrity Wing including Pete Rose, William “The Refrigerator” Perry, “Mr. Baseball” Bob Uecker, Drew Carey and Mike Tyson.

No inductor has been announced for Mr. T yet, but is seemingly a sure bet that Hulk Hogan will be the one to do the honors, as Hogan is the one closely associated with Mr. T in the wrestling industry. Rowdy Roddy Piper would also make a solid choice for inductor and provide for a controversial induction speech.

Mr. T joins the star-studded cast of The Ultimate Warrior, Jake “The Snake” Roberts, Lita, Paul Bearer and Carlos Colon as inductees in the 2014 WWE Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

This year’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held on April 5, in New Orleans, Louisiana inside the New Orleans Arena the night before WrestleMania XXX.

Report this ad