Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Movie adaptation: 'Divergent' by Veronica Roth

“Divergent” is the bestselling novel by young adult American author Veronica Roth and the first in the Divergent trilogy. It is set in a dystopian version of Chicago. Other books in the trilogy include “Insurgent” and “Allegiant.” The movie adaptation of “Divergent” is set to be released in theaters on Friday March21, 2014.

The movie adaptation of Veronica Roth's 'Divergent' hits theaters on Friday March 21, 2014.

In “Divergent” the city is divided into five factions each meant to foster a particular virtue. These factions include: Abnegation for the selfless, Amity for the peaceful, Candor for the honest, Dauntless for the brave and Erudite for the knowledgeable. When teenagers turn 16 they take an aptitude test to determine what faction they are best suited for and then decide to either stay with their family or move to another one.

The protagonist is Beatrice Prior who was born into an Abnegation family but never felt like she belonged. When she takes the test and the results come back they prove to be inconsistent because she shows aptitude for three factions: Abnegation, Erudite and Dauntless. This makes her ‘Divergent’ and she is warned to keep this information to herself because it might put her life in danger. When it’s time for her to make a decision she surprises her family by deciding to joint Dauntless.

She renames herself Tris and goes through some difficult times during the initiation period. During this time she must decide who her real friends are while she struggles to fit into her new life. When unrest and danger threaten to disrupt this society the secret she was told to keep might end up saving those she loves.

Source: Amazon

Report this ad