Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Motorsports: Watkins Glen Int'l accepting noms for 2014 'Legends of the Glen'

Motorsports: Watkins Glen Int'l accepting noms for '14 'Legends of the Glen'
Photo by Drew Hallowell/Getty Images for NASCAR

According to a press release from Watkins Glen International on Tuesday, May 20, the track is accepting nominations from fans for its annual "Legends of the Glen" tribute. Fan nominations for 2014 are being accepted from now until May 31.

"It only makes sense for us to include our fans in the nomination process," said Michael Printup, President of Watkins Glen International. "Many of our fans have witnessed their [nominees'] evolution - from ordinary to legendary."

Last year's "Legends" were Geoff Bodine and Otto Linton. They joined 18 other individuals who have been so honored since 2008.

Fans may nominate individuals who have made a significant impact at Watkins Glen International. Nominations may include: team owners, former WGI staff, race officials, and any current or retired driver from any series that has competed at The Glen.

Each nomination must include the individual’s name, a list of their accomplishments at WGI and a brief example of why you believe they should be included in Legends of The Glen. Accomplishments included in the nomination must have taken place at WGI.

Nominations may be sent via email to, or via mail to Watkins Glen International, Legends of The Glen, 2790 County Route 16, Watkins Glen, NY 14891. Nominations must be submitted before the May 31 deadline. The 2014 class of Legends of The Glen will be announced throughout the season.

Legends of The Glen began in 2008 as part of the 60th anniversary of road racing at The Glen, to honor individuals who have made a significant impact on The Glen’s storied history. Twenty legendary individuals have been inducted into the program, including: Mario Andretti, Cameron & Jean Argetsinger, Derek Bell, Geoff Bodine, Jimmy Clark, Jeff Gordon, Walter Hansgen, Hurley Haywood, Graham Hill, Al Holbert, James Hunt, Mark Martin, Otto Linton, Bill Milliken, Scott Pruett, Jim Riesbeck, Sir Jackie Stewart, Tony Stewart and Phil Waters.

For more information on Legends of The Glen visit the track's website.

"It has been an honor presenting drivers and their families with this significant recognition over the years," Printup said.

The Glen is currently celebrating 65 years of racing.

Report this ad