Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

Motorsports: Rusty Wallace inducted into Walk of Fame, Watkins Glen

See also

Former NASCAR driver Rusty Wallace was inducted into the Watkins Glen Walk of Fame facilitated by staff from the International Motor Racing Research Center (IMRRC) on Friday, August 10. The Walk of Fame honors "the great drivers who have competed on the Glen's world famous circuit" since 1948, according to the Grand Prix Festival website. Walk of Fame entrants are sponsored by local businesses and individuals.

More Photos

Wallace's plaque is located in the sidewalk outside the Unique County Boutique at 212 North Franklin Street in the village of Watkins Glen. It reads: "Rusty Wallace / Winner / 1987 and 1989 Bud at The Glen / Pontiac / 1989 NASCAR National Champion."

In making the presentation before dozens of fans and spectators, IMRRC representatives said that, since the Walk of Fame was started in 1993, over 100 drivers have been inducted. Plaques in the sidewalks of the village extend up and down Franklin Street, on Fourth Street, and outside the IMRRC.

In accepting the award, Wallace remarked that he will enjoy seeing the marker every time he is in Watkins Glen from now on and will be sure to stop in the boutique it is in front of to purchase some fudge and enjoy the day.

Wallace's racing career included 55 NASCAR championship event victories; the 1989 NASCAR Winston Cup championship; the 1991 IROC Championship; and the 1983 American Speed Association Championship. Wallace retired in 2005.

The Walk of Fame at the Glen is just one of the honors the driver has received over the two years. He was inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame in February 2013. On Tuesday, Aug. 5, he was inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.

Wallace is a member of the IMRRC's Drivers Council. In August 2010, the Center was given the Penske Racing “Rusty’s Last Call” Dodge Charger, painted and decaled to celebrate Wallace’s final year in competition. The car was on display at the induction ceremony.

Cameron R. Argetsinger, racing founder, was the first Walk of Fame entrant. His marker is at the original start-finish line in front of the Schuyler County Courthouse.