Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Sports
  3. MLB

MLB expands instant replay

See also

It’s a longtime coming, but MLB has finally gotten onboard with expanded replay. All 30 teams voted unanimously yesterday to the decision which will affect the 2014 regular and postseason. Calls that can now be challenged include:

1) Home runs
2) Fan interference
3) Ground-rule doubles
4) Stadium boundary calls
5) Force play (except the fielder's touching of second base on a double play)
6) Tag play
7) Fair/foul (outfield only)
8) Trap play (outfield only)
9) Passing runners
10) Timing play (whether a runner scores before a third out)
11) Touching a base
12) Batter hit by pitch
13) Record keeping (ball- strike count to a batter, outs, score, and substitutions).

Managers will begin each game with one challenge. If said challenge is upheld, they will receive a second and final challenge. If a manager has exhausted all his challenges and a questionable call occurs after the start of the seventh inning, the crew chief can call for a replay.

In a statement MLB Commissioner Bud Selig claims he’s excited about the rule change:

"I am very pleased that instant replay will expand to include additional impactful plays. The new system will give managers valuable recourse in potentially game-changing situations. The opportunity for our fans to see more replays in our ballparks is also an important modification that the clubs and I favored.

"I thank the Major League players and umpires for their cooperation with this change, which will serve our shared game well. I also extend my gratitude to John Schuerholz, Joe Torre, Tony La Russa, Peter Woodfork and Chris Marinak, all of whom worked extremely hard to make this highly complicated task a reality."

Follow Brian on Twitter at


Today's top buzz...

  • Coachella
    The set times you need to know have been announced for Coachella
    Festival Buzz
  • Lamar Odom
    The New York Knicks are giving Lamar Odom another shot in the NBA
    NBA Buzz
  • Porsha Williams
    See why 'Real Housewives of Atlanta' star Porsha Williams posed for this mug shot
    TV News
  • NHL tickets
    If you're looking to catch an NHL playoff game in NYC, don't expect to do so on a budget
    NHL Buzz
  • Transcendence
    Review: ‘Transcendence’ fascinates, but does it rise above the field?
    Movies Buzz
  • Kobe Bryant
    Kobe Bryant has agreed to cooperate with an all-access documentary about his life
    Sports Buzz

Related Videos:

  • Sox look to fill hole left by Garcia injury
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518178925" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • Ryan Braun returns
    <div class="video-info" data-id="517867593" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • Abraham Almonte In 2013
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518054027" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!