Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Miranda Lambert's 'Platinum' promises diversity, with 'Taylor Swiftian' pop

See also

Miranda Lambert takes her music in a completely new direction with her forthcoming album, "Platinum," expected in the spring. As her fifth full-length, the project sees the singer charting territory typically reserved for her superstar contemporary, Taylor Swift, particularly on the title track.

Rolling Stone describes the song as a "blond-ambition anthem" that's "hook-packed, Taylor Swiftian pop." But don't be too fooled by the assumption that the entire record will be this way. Look at the lead single "Automatic," which perfectly encapsulates the growing need for technology and reminiscing about the past. Elsewhere on the record, Lambert tackles bluegrass on "All That's Left For You To Do Is Leave," a tune she originally heard on SiriusXM. "My husband had the idea to do the song Western- swing-style," she says of the song. "I hate it when he's right."

Also, the 30-year-old powerhouse examines fame and the tabloids, especially on the song "Priscilla" -- yes, as in Presley. Here, she ponders on what it's like to share her husband with the fans and the world in a heartfelt manner. "Insecurity and tabloids are all addressed in this album," Lambert explains to the magazine. "I've never hidden anything. I'm just a little bit more high-profile now."

With the massive success of her previous efforts, namely the critically acclaimed "Revolution" and "Four The Record," Lambert admits that's she sweating a bit. "This is the most stressed I've been about any record," he says. "Everyone's like, 'You're one of the queens, you got it made.' Yeah, but I want to stay here!"

On Monday (March 10), Lambert will make an appearance on "Good Morning America" to make a huge announcement, presumably an official release date for "Platinum."

As previously reported, several other cuts have been confirmed for the project, including "All The Whiskey You Can Drink" (Lambert, Lori McKenna), "Babies Making Babies" (Galyon, Hemby, Jimmy Robbins) and "Hard Staying Sober" (Hemby, Luke Laird, Lambert).

Sony Music Nashville chairman and CEO Gary Overton shares his thoughts on Lambert's work, “She’s known as the rock chick and male-basher chick and everything else. But this sets a tone for the album. She’s got rock stuff on there—don’t get me wrong—but there’s things she’s talking about and saying that you haven’t heard her say and contemplate.”

Chat about this and other country music news on Twitter. For even more news about your artists, feel free to subscribe!


Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    5 Photos