Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Miranda Lambert and Tim McGraw lead Academy of Country Music Award nominations

Miranda Lambert leads ACM nominations
Photo by Jason Merritt/Getty Images

Familiar faces dominated the list of nominations revealed by the Academy of Country Music on Wednesday morning. Leading the list with the most nods are reigning four-time Top Female Vocalist of the Year Miranda Lambert and superstar Tim McGraw. The announcement was made via YouTube by Darius Rucker, Lucy Hale, Katy Perry, and other stars.

Nominated in the most-coveted category, Entertainer of the Year, are: Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Blake Shelton, George Strait, and Taylor Swift. George Strait took the award home in 1989, Taylor Swift notched back-to-back wins in 2010 and 2011, while Luke Bryan won last year.

Joining first-time nominee Sheryl Crow in the Top Female Vocalist category are Miranda Lambert, Kacey Musgraves, Taylor Swift, and Carrie Underwood. Jason Aldean, Lee Brice, Luke Bryan, Blake Shelton, and Keith Urban comprise the Top Male Vocalist nominations.

The Eli Young Band, Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, The Band Perry, and the Zac Brown Band make up the five nominees for Top Vocal Group. Last year's winners of Top Vocal Duo, Thompson Square, will compete against Big & Rich, Dan + Shay, Florida Georgia Line, and Love and Theft at this year's ceremony.

Some of country music's biggest stars will vie for Album of the Year. Blake Shelton's "Based on a True Story," "Crash My Party" by Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line's million-seller "Here's To The Good Times," "Same Trailer, Different Park" from Kacey Musgraves, and Tim McGraw's "Two Lanes of Freedom" are all nominated.

Country artists react to ACM Award nominations.

"Cruise" by Flordia Georgia Line, "Highway Don't Care" by Tim McGraw featuring Taylor Swift and Keith Urban, Miranda Lambert's "Mama's Broken Heart," "Wagon Wheel" from Darius Rucker, and "I Drive Your Truck" by Lee Brice were nominated for Single Record of the Year. The category honors both the artist and songwriter.

In addition to being nominated for Single Record of the Year, the hits provided by Lee Brice, Miranda Lambert, and Darius Rucker received nods for Song the Year. Gary Allan's "Every Storm (Runs Out of Rain) and Blake Shelton's "Mine Would Be You" are also included in the category.

Videos from The Band Perry ("Better Dig Two), Kacey Musgraves ("Blowin' Smoke"), Miranda Lambert ("Mama's Broken Heart"), Lee Brice ("I Drive Your Truck") Tim McGraw featuring Taylor Swift and Keith Urban ("Highway Don't Care") and Carrie Underwood ("Two Black Cadallics") all garnered nods in the Video of the Year category.

Miranda Lambert and Keith Urban scored double nominations in the Vocal Event of the Year race. Their recent smash number one duet "We Were Us" will compete with some of the year's biggest collaborations. Blake Shelton featuring the Pistol Annie's on "Boys 'Round Here," "Highway Don't Care" by Tim McGraw, Taylor Swift, and Keith Urban, Florida Georgia Line's "Cruise" remix with Nelly, and Darius Rucker and Lady Antebellum for "Wagon Wheel" will vie for the win.

Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan will reprise their hosting duties when Country Music's Party of the Year airs live from Las Vegas on April 6. For more information, visit Receive breaking award show news by following the ACM Awards on Twitter.

Report this ad