The states affected by the automatic minimum wage pay increase are Arizona, California, Florida, Missouri, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington. The pay increases will affect approximately 1.4 million workers at the lower end of the pay scale.
Nine of the ten states have passed laws that automatically increase the minimum wage each year based on the rate of inflation. One of the ten states- Rhode Island- just passed a new minimum wage law last year that increases the rate in 2013. In addition, the state of Nevada has increased its minimum wage, but the increase will not take effect until July, 2013.
According to the National Employment Law Project, the pay increases for workers in these states will increase between $190 and $510 annually. On the lower end of the minimum wage increase, Missouri raised its rate by 10 cents to $7.35 per hour. On the upper end, Rhode Island raised its minimum wage 35 cents per hour to $7.75.
The state with the highest minimum wage is Washington, with a $9.19 hourly rate. Nationally, the minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, but individual states have the right to increase this amount if they choose.
As of January 1, 2013, nineteen U.S. states, plus the District of Columbia, have mandated minimum wages greater than the $7.25 national minimum. The remaining states have kept the $7.25 minimum in place, but there is increased pressure to increase the rates in each state to a level that at least keeps up with the rate of inflation.
Want to find more great money saving tips and read more financial articles? Visit Money Saving Parent today!
I hope you enjoyed this post! Click the “subscribe” link above to receive automatic updates whenever a new post is made.