Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Mike Conway of England wins IndyCar race at Long Beach Grand Prix

40th Annual Toyota of Long Beach Grand Prix--Mike hugs fellow crew member.
40th Annual Toyota of Long Beach Grand Prix--Mike hugs fellow crew member.
Photo by Ella Batalon

Thousands were in attendance Sunday afternoon for the last day of the 40th Annual Toyota of Long Beach Grand Prix to watch Mike Conway from Bromley England win the 80-lap IndyCar Race -- followed by Will Power of Australia coming in a close second with Carlos Munoz of Bogotá Columbia rounding out the top three.

Top three Indy Car Winners of 40th Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach.
Photo by Ella Batalon

During lap 56, the race was interrupted by a multicar crash in turn 4 when three of the top drivers -- Ryan Hunter-Reay, Josef Newgarden and James Hinchcliffe -- made contact and collided into each other blocking the narrow turn that would also involve fellow race drivers Tony Kanaan, Takuma Sato and Jack Hawksworth.

Conway, with the help of his spotter, was able to slow down and maneuver around the collision to resume the race and take the lead from Scott Dixon when Dixon was forced to pull into the pits to refuel. Conway then charged ahead of Will Power by 0.9005 seconds for the win.

This year's win marks Conway's second at the Long Beach Grand Prix since 2011. The race ended in a celebration in the winner's Victory Circle with an awards ceremony and a shower of confetti, followed by photo ops and a spray of Korbel champagne by the victors.

Race results:

  1. Mike Conway
  2. Will Power
  3. Carlos Munoz
  4. Juan Pablo Montoya
  5. Simon Pagenaud
  6. Mikhail Aleshin
  7. Oriol Servia
  8. Marco Andretti
  9. Sebastian Saavedra
  10. Carlos Huertas
  11. Helio Castroneves
  12. Scott Dixon
  13. Graham Rahal
  14. Sebastien Bourdais
  15. Jack Hawksworth
  16. Justin Wilson
  17. Ryan Briscoe
  18. Tony Kanaan
  19. Josef Newgarden
  20. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  21. James Hinchcliffe
  22. Takuma Sato
  23. Charlie Kimball
Report this ad