Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Mike Clark's rock and folk fusion at The Shoe Factory

See also

Mike Clark graced the stage at The Shoe Factory, on Feb. 9. He was the headliner, Josh Dillard was the opening act and Desirae Garcia was the direct support. Clark played the guitar and provided vocals. Garcia and Kelsey Sprague were his special guests and provided backup vocals and danced.

More Photos

Clark began his recital with “Sunny Side Up” and said the song was written soon after the passing of his dog, as more patrons found a place to sit down. He stated how he did not like the feedback the microphones were giving him, asked the crowd for permission to perform without them and they agreed with a unanimous decision.

Prior to “Its Over Again”, Clark brought Garcia and Sprague to join him on stage. Afterwards—he said he was hoping to hold a music festival in his backyard in May and call it “The Kettle Fest”. He mentioned he had lived in Colo. since Sept. and resided in “The Grove” section of town.

After “Pawn Shop”, Clark went onto say Garcia and Sprague were in his eight-piece band, Mike Clark and the Sugar Shack. Then, he went onto ask the crowd if they wanted to hear a fun or sad song. The crowd agreed to listen to a fun one.
As a result—he joked and said to himself, “Cheer up, bud.”

Before “What Lovers Do”, Clark said he had two more songs for the spectators. He spoke of his experiences in Pueblo, Colo. and encouraged them to join him for Bingo Burger or to watch sports. After he mentioned sports, the crowd laughed with him. Playing off of their response, he said he remembered going into Shamrock Brewing Company and being overwhelmed by the sports on the television screens. He later complimented the restaurant and said they had the best food in town.

“Burn You Up” ended Clark’s concert, after he asked the crowd if they wanted one more song. Some of the attendees wanted him to perform two more songs. He had the crowd vote again, after he asked if they wanted to hear a fun song or a sad one. Again, they agreed with a fun one. Sprague and Garcia stood next to him and assisted with backup vocals.

“Do the Math”, “The Dreamer”, “Come Back My Way”, “All These Tears”, “The Heat of my Heart” and “Good Love” were also part of Mike Clark’s set.


Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Jack White has played the longest show of his career, going for over three hours
    Music Buzz
  • Donald Sterling
    Donald Sterling loses big in court, Clippers sale will proceed
    Today's Buzz
  • Steve Nash
    The Los Angeles Lakers will not use stretch provision on Steve Nash
    NBA Buzz
  • Peter Gabriel
    Peter Gabriel revisits classics in new concert film 'Back to Front'
    20 Photos
  • Train
    Train rocks an outdoor show with old favorites and new hits in Tahoe
    15 Photos
  • Rascal Flatts
    Rascal Flatts to perform at Washington Redskins Training Center in Richmond, Va.
    11 Photos