Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Education & Schools
  3. Higher Education

Michigan's Beilein and Stauskas earn highest Big Ten honors

See also

University of Michigan head basketball coach John Beilein and guard Nik Stauskas earned the Big Ten's highest honors on Monday as the media and coaches voted them the conference's 2014 Coach of the Year and 2014 Player of the Year, respectively. The pair will continue their outstanding seasons when the Wolverines take the court on Friday during the Big Ten postseason tournament in Indianapolis.

Just the third coach in U-M program history to net this distinction, Beilein guided U-M to a 23-7 overall mark and 15-3 conference record to win the Big Ten regular season crown. The stellar campaign prompted media voters to tap him for the coaching award, which only Johnny Orr and Bill Frieder had previously taken home for the Maize and Blue.

Meanwhile, Stauskas grabbed the second consecutive Player of the Year nod for Michigan, following in the footsteps of Trey Burke last season. The sophomore standout tallied 17.4 points per game -- including 45.8 percent on three-point attempts -- 3.5 assists, and 3.3 rebounds. The attention Stauskas received wasn't limited to the Big Ten, as the Sporting News named him a second-team All-American, which the school's athletic website,, reported today.

Learn more about the Big Ten awards for Beilein and Stauskas in another article, which also spotlights the postseason accolades that fellow Wolverines Glenn Robinson III, Derrick Walton Jr., and Caris LeVert won.

Stay current with Michigan men's hoops on Facebook and Twitter.



  • Dan Savage
    Dan Savage cares about LGBT youth, bullying and saving lives
    Today's Buzz
  • Raku
    Teachers and students can use this summer to learn a new skill
    15 Photos
  • Beach body
    Fitness: Earn your beach body badge with bootcamp classes
    10 Photos
  • Greek wine
    Unwind with these delicious wines: The thrilling wines of Greece
    7 Photos
  • Mandy Moore
    Exclusive interview with Celebrity Mandy Moore concerning animal activism
    5 Photos
  • Exercise
    Find out why you should exercise to compliment your diet
    10 Photos