Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Members of Radiohead and The National to release split record

Two of indie rock's most beloved musical forces are set to collide this Spring. Yesterday on January 17, Pitchfork Media reported that Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood and The National's Bryce Dessner will be releasing a split album of classical works on March 3.

Jonny Greenwood at Coachella 2012
Photo by Kevin Winter

Before you get too excited, know that these compositions aren't exactly new. The album includes a suite that Green wrote for the 2008 film "There Will Be Blood," as well as three previously released orchestrations from Dessner entitled "St. Carolyn by the Sea," "Lachrimae," and "Raphael."

The lack of new material begs the question: What is the point of releasing this record? According to Pitchfork, the two musicians were paired for their "quintessentially American themes such as the vast expanses of the country’s landscape, or a sense of nostalgic longing." As both are very talented musicians, it's sure to be an emotive and beautiful record for those who haven't already heard the compositions.

The split album is out March 3 on Deutsche Grammophon/Universal Classics. Check out the track listing below!

St. Carolyn by the Sea; Suite From There Will Be Blood:

Bryce Dessner:
01 St. Carolyn by the Sea
02 Lachrimae
03 Raphael

Jonny Greenwood:
04 Open Spaces
05 Future Markets
06 HW/Hope of New Fields
07 Henry Plainview
08 Proven Lands
09 Oil

Report this ad