Skip to main content
  1. Arts & Entertainment
  2. Books

Meg Cabot reveals new summer book line-up

See also

“The Princess Diaries” series is back! Young Adult author Meg Cabot has officially announced on her blog a summer release line-up that includes two new installments to her popular “Princess Diaries” series. According to the Wall Street Journal, Cabot “was hesitant” at first to return to “The Princess Diaries.” The series, which is about awkward teen Mia Thermopolis’ struggles to become a princess, has sold more than five million copies in the U.S. The series was also made into a movie starring Anne Hathaway. Cabot eventually decided to write another book in the series because “[a] lot of the readers who grew up with ‘The Princess Diaries’ YA books are having kids of their own, and some are librarians or teachers, so the adult book is perfect for them.”

Here are the full details:

In ROYAL WEDDING: Princess Diaries XI, Princess Mia’s planned nuptials to longtime love Michael Moscovitz are in jeopardy when the paparazzi uncover a startling secret: Mia has a long lost younger sister. Now a scheming politico is using the royal scandal to force Mia’s father from the throne, leaving Genovia without a monarch . . . unless Mia can prove to everyone—especially herself—that she’s finally fit to rule. ROYAL WEDDING will be the first ever adult installment of the Princess Diaries.

In FROM THE NOTEBOOKS OF A MIDDLE SCHOOL PRINCESS, a new character, middle school student Olivia Grace, discovers that she’s Princess Mia’s long lost half-sister, and a royal descendent of the kingdom of Genovia. The story will be told through the illustrated diaries of Olivia. Olivia has a biracial background, which Cabot says has a special resonance for her and her family. This book also marks the first time Cabot has illustrated her own children’s fiction (even though she has a BA in Fine Arts from Indiana University and moved to New York City originally to be an illustrator). FROM THE NOTEBOOKS OF A MIDDLE SCHOOL PRINCESS will be the first middle grade “Princess Diaries” novel and a sequel is already planned for the following year.

Cabot will also be releasing book seven in her “Mediator” series this summer. REMEMBRANCE will be the first-ever adult installment of the series.


Arts & Entertainment

  • Ted Nugent
    Ted Nugent concert at Native American casino canceled because of obvious reasons
  • Fifty Shades of Grey
    The first 'Fifty Shades of Grey' trailer has been released, leaving fans wanting more
    Movies Buzz
  • Music festivals
    150 years of major American music festivals are rooted in Rhode Island
    17 Photos
  • Billy Corgan
    Billy Corgan receives Vanguard Awards at AMPAs in Cleveland
    13 Photos
  • Celebrity tattoos
    We're not sure what some of these celebrities were thinking when they decided to get inked
    23 Photos
  • John Stamos
    John Stamos talks about love, life and being tired of Uncle Jesse
    Today's Buzz