Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Recreation
  3. General Recreation

Meb Keflezighi is first American man to win Boston marathon in years

See also

Americans all over the world held their breath only to exhale with exhilaration as their very own Meb Keflezighi made history today by winning the Boston Marathon. It took Keflezighi just two hours, eight minutes and 37 seconds to be the first American man to win the Boston Marathon since Greg Meyer won it in 1983. It was just one year ago that Boston shook with terror as the marathon was bombed. Three people were killed and 260 were injured. Keflezighi proudly wore on his bib the names of the three victims, 8-year-old Martin Richard, 23-year-old Lu Lingzi, 29-year-old Krystle Campbell as well as the name of MIT officer Sean Collier who was shot three days after the marathon in 2013.

According to Keflezighi said, "'At the end, I just kept thinking, 'Boston Strong. Boston Strong,'" he said. "I was thinking give everything you have. If you get beat, that's it.'"

Competing has been Keflezighi's life. He has broken many records over the years and is an Olympic medalist. Among his “firsts” he won silver in the 2004 Olympics becoming the “first American man to win an Olympic marathon medal since 1976,” according to Keflezighi was also the first place winner of the New York City Marathon in 2009. These are just a few of his accomplishments. Although 38-year old Keflezighi wasn't born in the U.S., this American who now resides in Mammoth Lakes, Cali. has made America proud. He'll always be known as the American who reclaimed the Boston Marathon for his country, giving hope after hope was shattered just one year ago. The resounding cry since last years bombing has been determination and hope. The Star-spangled-banner was played to signify an American had won the Boston Marathon.

"'I'm blessed to be an American and God bless America and God Bless Boston for this special day,' Keflezighi said.”( Keflezighi is joined by Rita Jeptoo in the winners circle. She defended the womens title she won last year. She is a three time Boston Marathon winner. Her time was two hours, 17 minutes and 57 seconds. The race was made up of nearly 70,000 runners but less than 5,000 of the runners who didn't finish last year who received invitations returned to run this year. America and the world are proud of the winners and competitors of the Boston Marathon this year, and we'll never forget those who lost their lives and suffered loss on that fateful day in 2013.



  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen has Alzheimer's disease, will step down
    NFL News
  • Sam responds to Dungy
    Michael Sam has the perfect response to Tony Dungy's controversial comments
    NFL News
  • Bella wardrobe malfunction
    Sexy diva Nikki Bella suffers wardrobe malfunction during WWE show
    Fight Sports
  • LeBron gives cupcakes
    LeBron James sends cupcakes to neighbors after press overtakes neighborhood
    Food & Drink

Related Videos:

  • Merging traffic
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Press release for DancerPalooza
    <iframe width="600" height="337" src="//;VQ=HD720&amp;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Toutle River Tiffin Allegro Rally
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>