Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

McAvoy, Fassbender, and Lawrence will join 'X-Men: Apocalypse'

Looks like there may be an apocalypse in the summer of 2016.

Or, in the case of Marvel and DC Comics, a superhero apocalypse, as the latest issue of Entertainment Weekly (EW) revealed that James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Jennifer Lawrence, and Nicholas Hoult has signed on for X-Men: Apocalypse, which is set to be the follow-up for this summer's Days of Future Past, which comes out May 23.

The seventh X-Men installment, Days of Future Past assembles nearly everyone from the 14-year film franchise, as Logan/Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) travels back in time to work with Charles Xavier (McAvoy) and Erik Lehnsherr (Fassbender), the younger selves of Professor X (Sir Patrick Stewart) and Magneto (Sir Ian McKellen), to prevent a war that could mean the end of the entire mutant race.

Days of Future Past also stars Shawn Ashmore as Bobby Drake/Iceman, Anna Paquin as Marie/Rogue, Ellen Page as Kitty Pryde, and Halle Berry as Storm.

EW has also reported the possibility of a Mystique film with Lawrence as the shape-shifting mutant, a role that was preceded by Rebecca Romijn in the original X-Men trilogy.

X-Men: Apocalypse is scheduled for release on May 27, 2016, one week before the May 6 battle between Batman vs. Superman and Captain America 3.

And speaking of Marvel's First Avenger, he became this weekend's mightiest box office hero for the second week, as Captain America: The Winter Soldier took in $41.3 million -- bringing its domestic total to $159 million.

Report this ad