Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Maureen O'Hara, Harry Belafonte to receive Honorary Oscars

Maureen O'Hara and Harry Belafonte
Maureen O'Hara and Harry Belafonte

Irish-born actress Maureen O'Hara and actor/singer Harry Belafonte will receive honorary Oscars at the 2014 Academy Awards, the Academy announced this week.

Belafonte, a longtime activist and humanitarian, will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, while O'Hara will receive an Honorary Oscar, the Wrap reports.

O'Hara, now 94, starred in several films by John Ford, including "How Green Was My Valley" and "The Quiet Man." She was also in the Christmas classic "Miracle on 34th Street" and the original Disney movie "The Parent Trap." Her last feature film was as John Candy's mother in 1991's "Only The Lonely."

She was never nominated for an Oscar, but In 2004 received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Irish Film and Television Academy in her native Dublin.

Belafonte, 87, was known as the "King of Calypso" for popularizing the genre with songs like "Day-O." His films include "Carmen Jones" with Dorothy Dandridge, where, ironically, his singing was dubbed. He also starred in "Island in the Sun," "Odds Against Tomorrow," "White Man's Burden" and "Kansas City."

The actor and singer is also known for his activism: He was named as a cultural advisor to the Peace Corps by John F. Kennedy and in 2007 was awarded the Chief Justice Earl Warren Civil Liberties Award. The documentary film about his contributition to the civil rights movement, "Sing Your Song," played at the 2011 Sundance Film Fest. Per the Academy's press release, "hiis work on behalf of children, education, famine relief, AIDS awareness and civil rights has taken him all over the world."

Also being honored are legendary Japanese animator Hayao Miyazaki ("Princess Mononoke") and writer Jean-Claude Carrière, who collaborated with directors Luis Buñuel and Jean-Luc Godard. Miyazaki won an Oscar in 2002 for “Spirited Away,”and Carrière shared an Oscar for the live action short subject “Heureux Anniversaire (Happy Anniversary)” in 1962. They will both receive an Honorary Oscar.

The ceremony will be held on November 8. The honorary Oscars are no longer a part of the main ceremony, which will be held next year, leaving more time to celebrate the honorees.

Report this ad