Skip to main content
  1. News
  2. Politics
  3. Political Buzz

Mattiello elected new speaker of the house

See also

The Democratic controlled Rhode Island House of Representatives have elected Representative Nicholas Mattiello to be the new Speaker of the House. Mr. Mattiello replaces Representative Gordon Fox who resigned Saturday from the speakership as a result of the FBI raid on Friday.

According to the Providence Journal, the newly elected speaker defeated his opponent Michael J. Marcello (D-Dist. 41, Scituate and Cranston) by way of a roll call vote. The vote came to 61-6 with six abstentions and two absences.

The new Speaker of the House

Speaker of the House Mattiello represents district 15 in Cranston. According to his biography on the Rhode Island General Assembly website, residents of district 15 elected him their representative in Nov. 2006. Prior to today’s election to the role of speaker, Mattielllo served as House Majority Leader, a position that he was elected to in 2010.

In addition to the election of a new speaker, new leaders were elected for the House Democrats. According to a press release issued by the General Assembly, the following representatives were elected: Rep. John J. DeSimone (D-Dist. 5, Providence) as Majority Leader, Rep. John G. Edwards (D-Dist. 70, Tiverton Portsmouth) as Majority Whip, and Rep. Joseph S. Almeida (D-Dist. 12, Providence) as Deputy Majority Whip.



  • Gaza conflict
    Israel official: Ceasefire and expanding Gaza conflict are both being discussed
  • Air Algerie crash
    Conflicting reports about the Air Algerie disappearance begin to emerge
    Top News
  • Arizona execution
    A Senator familiar with torture denounces Joseph Wood's botched execution as such
    US News
  • Ray Rice suspended
    Ravens' running back Ray Rice is suspended for two games for a domestic violence arrest
  • Amazon tribe falls ill
    An Amazonian tribe catches influenza after making first contact with the developed world
  • CIA prison in Poland
    Poland is declared guilty of human rights violations for hosting a secret CIA prison

Related Videos:

  • Famine
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518232952" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • Is promised unilateral power play on immigration violating Take Care Clause?
    <iframe width="420" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Exposed
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518100986" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>