Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Mariah Carey announces new album 'Me. I Am Mariah... The Elusive Chanteuse'

Pop superstar Mariah Carey announced the release date of her forthcoming album "Me. I Am Mariah... The Elusive Chanteuse" on Wednesday (April 30). Along with springing the news about a new album, she also revealed the inspiration behind its unique title and information about the tracklist.

"Me. I Am Mariah... The Elusive Chanteuse" album cover
Mariah Carey's official Twitter account

Carey's first (non-festive) studio album since 2009's "Memoirs of an Imperfect Angel" has stalled several times in the development process. She told Billboard in an interview published this week that her long-awaited record would be released digitally Beyoncé-style a.k.a. out of the blue. Representatives from her label Def Jam Recordings quashed that news real quick, saying that the album would receive a traditional promo rollout instead (with the release date announced ahead of time).

In a sort of Beyoncé way, Carey released many details about her new album all at once in a video uploaded to YouTube on Wednesday evening. Fans knew they were getting album details soon but they were not exactly sure when. She dubbed her next release "Me. I Am Mariah... The Elusive Chanteuse." The part before the ellipsis was taken from a picture Mariah drew of herself when she was 3-years-old and "The Elusive Chanteuse" is nickname she recently adopted. In the brief clip, Carey says the album is a "reflection of some of the peaks of volleys that have made me who I am today."

The deluxe edition of "Me. I Am Mariah" will include 18 tracks including Carey's platinum-selling song "#Beautiful" with Miguel, the gospel-tinged "The Art of Letting Go," and her recent single "You're Mine (Eternal)." Rappers Nas, Wale and Fabolous are featured on other tracks. R&B singers R. Kelly and Mary J. Blige also make the cut.

"Me. I Am Mariah... The Elusive Chanteuse" will be released on May 27. The album is now available to pre-order on iTunes.

"Me. I Am Mariah... The Elusive Chanteuse" deluxe edition tracklist

1. Cry.
2. Faded
3. Dedicated (feat. Nas)
4. #Beautiful (feat. Miguel)
5. Thirsty
6. Make It Look Good
7. You’re Mine (Eternal)
8. You Don’t Know What To Do (feat. Wale)
9. Supernatural
10. Meteorite
11. Camouflage
12. Money ($ * / …) (feat. Fabolous)
13. One More Try
14. Heavenly (No Ways Tired/Can’t Give Up Now)
15. It’s a Wrap (feat. Mary J. Blige)
16. Betcha Gon’ Know (feat. R. Kelly)
17. The Art of Letting Go
18. Me. I Am Mariah…The Elusive Chanteuse

Report this ad