Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Movies

March 11, 2014 DVD and Blu-ray: 'Inside Llewyn Davis'

See also

From the Coen Brothers come the critically acclaimed period drama film Inside Llewyn Davis. Written and directed by Joel and Ethan Coen, it stars Oscar Isaac, Carey Mulligan, John Goodman, Garrett Hedlund and Justin Timberlake. The ensemble cast also includes F. Murray Abraham, Stark Sands and Adam Driver. Inside Llewyn Davis is the Coen Brothers’ fourth collaboration with multiple-Grammy and Academy Award-winning music producer T Bone Burnett and is also filled with music performed by Isaac, Justin Timberlake and Carey Mulligan, as well as Marcus Mumford and Punch Brothers. The film’s main character Llewyn Davis is partly inspired by the autobiography of folk singer Dave Van Ronk. Inside Llewyn Davis has been nominated for two Academy Awards, including Best Cinematography and Best Sound Mixing, and received three Golden Globe nominations including Best Motion Picture - Comedy or Musical, Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy for Isaac and Best Original Song - Motion Picture for the song “Please Mr. Kennedy.”

More Photos

Set in 1961, Inside Llewyn Davis follows a week in the life of the young, struggling folk singer Llewyn Davis as he tries to navigate the Greenwich Village folk scene during an unforgiving New York winter. He faces insurmountable obstacles including the death of his music partner and financial woes, especially since his recent solo album is not selling. He continues to try to make it as a musician while relying on the generosity of others -- drifting from couch to couch living at the mercy of both friends and strangers. Llewyn’s misadventures take him from the baskethouses of Greenwich Village to an empty Chicago club on an odyssey to audition for a music mogul -- who tells him he is not cut out to be a solo performer. Dejected, he hitchhikes back to New York City and begins to realize that he may be the architect of his own undoing as he tries to figure out what to do with his life.

The DVD and Blu-ray feature a 40-minute, making-of documentary, “Inside Inside Llewyn Davis,” with insights from the filmmakers, cast, crew and musicians, including Oscar Isaac, Elijah Wald, Stark Sands, T Bone Burnett, Carey Mulligan, Justin Timberlake, Marcus Mumford, Chris Thile, John Goodman, F. Murray Abraham, Jess Gonchor, Mary Zophres and Bruno Delbonnel.


  • Oscar Isaac as Llewyn Davis
  • Carey Mulligan as Jean Berkey
  • John Goodman as Roland Turner
  • Garrett Hedlund as Johnny Five
  • Justin Timberlake as Jim Berkey
  • F. Murray Abraham as Bud Grossman
  • Stark Sands as Troy Nelson
  • Jeanine Serralles as Joy
  • Adam Driver as Al Cody
  • Ethan Phillips as Mitch Gorfein
  • Alex Karpovsky as Marty Green
  • Max Casella as Pappi Corsicato
  • Benjamin Pike as young Bob Dylan

Special Features:

  • Inside Inside Llewyn Davis – Making-of Documentary, featuring Joel and Ethan Coen, Oscar Isaac, Elijah Wald, Stark Sands, T-Bone Burnett, Carey Mulligan, Justin Timberlake, Marcus Mumford, Chris Thile, John Goodman, F. Murray Abraham, Jess Gonchor, Mary Zophres and Bruno Delbonnel


Release Date: March 11, 2014

  • Inside Llewyn Davis Blu-ray SteelBook with Digital Copy and film of Another Day / Another Time: Celebrating the Music of Inside Llewyn Davis concert in HD. Presented by the Coen Brothers and T Bone Burnett comes a concert inspired by the Coen Brothers’ film, Inside Llewyn Davis, which is set in the 1960s Greenwich Village folk music scene, featuring live performances of the film’s music, as well as songs from the early 1960s. Another Day / Another Time: Celebrating the Music of Inside Llewyn Davis features performers including Jack White, Marcus Mumford, Joan Baez, Patti Smith, the Avett Brothers, Punch Brothers, Dave Rawlings Machine, Gillian Welch, Rhiannon Giddens, Lake Street Dive, Colin Meloy, The Milk Carton Kids, and Willie Watson, as well as the star of the film Oscar Isaac.

United Kingdom
Release Date: May 26, 2014

Best Prices:

DVD (includes UltraViolet Digital Copy) - $19.99 at, Best Buy, Target, $27.88 at

Blu-ray (includes UltraViolet Digital Copy) - $22.99 at, Best Buy, $24.99 at Target, $32.38 at



Related Videos:

  • 'Neighbors' on DVD and Blu-ray
    <div class="video-info" data-id="517922782" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’ Synopsis hints Ultron’s Origins
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518343698" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • 'Modern Family: The Complete Fifth Season' on DVD
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518154604" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>