Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Education & Schools
  3. General Education

Mar. 22: The Jones legacy endures

See also

Here’s what happened.

Atlanta native Robert Tyre “Bobby” Jones, Jr. retired from competitive golf in 1931. But the monument to his greatness has become greater every year since it opened on March 22, 1934. It began as the Augusta National Invitational Golf Tournament; it is better known as The Masters. The 2014 edition of The Masters is set for April 10-13.

Here’s why it matters.

Bobby Jones dominated golf from 1923-1930. He won championships at the four major tournaments of his era: the U.S. Open (four), British Open (three), U.S. Amateur (five) and British Amateur (one). In 1930 he won them all; sportwriters termed the feat a “Grand Slam.”

After retiring, Jones and Clifford Roberts, a co-investor, purchased the land of a former indigo plantation near Augusta to build an excellently challenging golf course. Alister MacKenzie designed one that inspired the tournament and an organization to host it, Augusta National Golf Club.

The Augusta National course is famous for its landmarks. Each hole is named after the tree or shrub with which it is associated. Several other locations (a tree, pond, and cabin) are named for USA President Dwight Eisenhower, who was an avid golfer and a club member.

Here’s an interesting fact!

The modern Grand Slam includes The Masters, U.S. Open, British Open, and PGA Championship. Ben Hogan, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Gene Sarazen, and Eldrick Tont “Tiger” Woods each achieved a Career Grand Slam. Jones remains the only man to have achieved it in the same calendar year.