Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Many Golden Globe noms "do lunch" with AFI today

Emma Thompson and Shirley MacLaine among the AFI's guests this afternoon.
Photo by Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images for AFI

Several of this year's nominees for the Golden Globes, which will be presented live on TV this Sunday, came out today for the AFI AWARDS 2013 luncheon sponsored by Verizon Digital Media Services and Audi of America.

This afternoon's guests included Amy Adams, Tom Hanks and Spike Jonze, all of whom appeared in two AFI AWARDS 2013 honored works: Adams for AMERICAN HUSTLE and HER; Hanks for CAPTAIN PHILLIPS and SAVING MR. BANKS; and Jonze for HER and THE WOLF OF WALL STREET.

Four AFI LIFE ACHIEVEMENT recipients attended. In addition to Hanks (2002), there were directors Martin Scorsese (1997) and Steven Spielberg (1995) as well as surprise guest Shirley MacLaine (2012).

Other guests included Chiwetel Ejiofor, Steve McQueen and Lupita Nyong representing 12 YEARS A SLAVE; Bradley Cooper and David O. Russell representing AMERICAN HUSTLE; Bruce Dern and Alexander Payne representing NEBRASKA; and John Lee Hancock and Emma Thompson representing SAVING MR. BANKS.

Also on hand were Ryan Coogler, Michael B. Jordan and Octavia Spencer of FRUITVALE STATION; Sandra Bullock and Alfonso Cuarón of GRAVITY; and T Bone Burnett, Joel Coen and Oscar Isaac of INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS.

Representing television were Brian Cranston, Vince Gilligan, Anna Gunn and Aaron Paul for BREAKING BAD; David Benioff and D.B. Weiss for GAME OF THRONES; Julianna Marguilies for THE GOOD WIFE; Kevin Spacey and Robin Wright for HOUSE OF CARDS; John Hamm, Christina Hendricks, Elizabeth Moss and Mathew Weiner for MAD MEN; Lizzy Caplan and Michael Sheen for MASTERS OF SEX; Tony Hale and Julia Louis-Dreyfus for VEEP, among others.

AFI Board of Trustees Vice Chair Tom Pollock, Chair of the AFI Jury for Motion Pictures, recognized the film honorees. Richard Frank, Chair of the AFI Jury for Television and an AFI Board of Trustees Vice Chair, acknowledged the television honorees.

Report this ad