Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Man of Steel Sequel Has a Title and Logo

Logo for upcoming film
Logo for upcoming film
Warner Bros.

Via CBR:

The untitled Man of Steel sequel has officially been titled: Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice.

Principal photography has started today in Detroit and as reported by Variety, the use of "Justice" in the title further suggests the film will function heavily as a "Justice League" prelude. It was confirmed late last month that Man of Steel and Batman v Superman director Zack Snyder will also helm a "Justice League" film, following Batman v Superman.

Batman v Superman sequel starring both Superman and Batman was first announced July 2013 at Comic-Con International in San Diego. Last week, Snyder released the first look at Affleck in the film's Batsuit via Twitter.

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice is scheduled for release on May 6, 2016, and also stars Amy Adams (Lois Lane), Laurence Fishburne (Perry White), Diane Lane (Martha Kent), Jesse Eisenberg (Lex Luthor), Jeremy Irons (Alfred) and Holly Hunter in an as-yet unspecified role.

Warner Bros.' full press release follows.


Principal photography is underway in Metro Detroit, Michigan

BURBANK, CA, May 21, 2014 – Filming is underway on Warner Bros. Pictures' "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice," the highly anticipated action adventure from director Zack Snyder, starring Henry Cavill in the role of Clark Kent/Superman, and Ben Affleck as BruceWayne/Batman.

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" also stars Gal Gadot as Diana Prince/Wonder Woman, with Amy Adams, Laurence Fishburne and Diane Lane returning from "Man of Steel," Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor, Jeremy Irons as Alfred, and Holly Hunter in a role newly created for the film.

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" is written by Chris Terrio, from a screenplay by David S. Goyer. Charles Roven and Deborah Snyder are producing, with Benjamin Melniker, Michael E. Uslan, Wesley Coller, David S. Goyer and Geoff Johns serving as executive producers.

Principal photography will take place on location at Michigan Motion Picture Studios and on location in and around Detroit, Michigan; Illinois; Africa; and the South Pacific.

Set to open worldwide on May 6, 2016, "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" is based on Superman characters created by Jerry Siegel & Joe Shuster, Batman characters created by Bob Kane, and Wonder Woman created by William Moulton Marston, appearing in comic books published by DC Entertainment.

Report this ad