Skip to main content

See also:

Madrid Open 2014: Sharapova v McHale live stream tennis schedule & TV start time

Maria Sharapova of Russia celebrates defeating Klara Koukalova of Czech Republic during day two of the Mutua Madrid Open tennis tournament at the Caja Magica on May 4, 2014 in Madrid, Spain.
Maria Sharapova of Russia celebrates defeating Klara Koukalova of Czech Republic during day two of the Mutua Madrid Open tennis tournament at the Caja Magica on May 4, 2014 in Madrid, Spain.Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images

Playing some of her best tennis of the season, Maria Sharapova faces Christina McHale in the second round of the Mutua Madrid Open. This WTA women’s (singles) match is scheduled for Tuesday at 7 a.m. EST (6 a.m. CST/5 a.m. MST/4 a.m. PST), will be broadcast on Tennis Channel (National TV) and live streaming free via ESPN3 (online).

Coming off her third straight Stuttgart title last month, the eighth-seeded Sharapova kept her momentum going with an impressive first round victory. According to a May 4 MariaSharapova.com report, the Russian beauty needed just 63 minutes to eliminate Klara Koukalova (Czech Republic) in straight sets, 6-1, 6-2.

The former world No.1 looks to keep things going when she takes on McHale, a 21-year-old American currently ranked 57th in the world. As noted by ESPN, the N.J. native is coming off a very impressive performance, defeating fellow countrywoman Lauren Davis by a final score of 7-6(2), 6-3 in the opener.

Winless in her career against Sharapova, Mchale hopes to snap a three-match losing skid at the Spanish capital. Two of their three meeting have been on clay, with the other one taking place at the U.S. Open’s round of 64 (hardcourt).

McHale, who’s yet to win a single set against “Masha”, will have a tall task Tuesday morning. Not only is Sharapova fresh off her first tournament win of the year, but she’s also playing some inspired tennis as of late.

According to 2014 Mutua Madrid Open oddsmakers, Maria Sharapova [-1800] is listed as a huge betting favorite against Christina McHale [+1100]. In addition, the OVER/UNDER is set at a combined total of 17 games, and finally, alternate betting lines go as follows: Sharapova -7 [-112] vs. McHale +7 [-104].

The winner of this match advances to the third round to face either Australia’s Samantha Stosur or Garbine Muguruza of Spain. It’s certainly worth noting that Serena Williams is the 2-time defending Mutua Madid Open champion. Despite coming in as the favorite, the top-seeded Williams will have to shake off the rust of a long layoff in order to complete the hat trick.

Can Maria Sharapova keep her climb towards the top of the rankings going, or is Christina McHale poised to get on the board in their head-to-head series? Tune to Tennis Channel at 7 a.m. EST to watch the national TV broadcast, or simply click on the link provided above (feed starts at 5 a.m. EST ) to watch the free live stream on a desktop and various (Internet) mobile devices.