Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Macon-Bibb Commissioners selected to serve on new committees

Macon-Bibb officially consolidated in January 2014.
Macon-Bibb officially consolidated in January 2014.
File photo.

On Tuesday, January 28, selected Macon-Bibb County commissioners were chosen to serve in the role of chairman or vice chairman to four new committees.

The first of the four new committees is the Operations & Finance Committee in which Gary Bechtel was chosen as chairman and Elaine Lucas-- the Commission's only female member -- was voted as the vice chairwoman.

Betchel, a Bibb County Republican, represents North Macon's District 1 seat and had been a member of the Bibb County Board of Education prior to winning a spot on the Macon-Bibb Commission over Democrat Harold Young.

Lucas is an East Macon Democrat who had been on the Macon City Council for two decades and is now the District 3 commissioner and had defeated Terry Tripp on October 15 to claim the seat.

On the Economic & Community Development Committee, District 2 commissioner Larry Schlesinger was chosen as chairman and West Macon's Al Tillman from District 9 was tapped as vice-chairman.

Schlesinger, who was buoyed by mostly support from Republican precincts in his special election runoff versus Henry Ficklin, won on January 14 and was recently sworn-in as the Macon-Bibb Commission's ninth and final member.

On the Public Safety Committee, Republican Scotty Shepherd from South Macon/Bibb's District 7 was chosen as chairman and former Macon City Councilman Virgil Watkins, who is now the commissioner for District 8, is vice-chairman.

Watkins had served previously as chairman of the Public Safety Committee on Macon City Council.

The fourth and final new committee is the Facilities & Engineering Committee and District 9 Al Tillman was voted to be its chairman with District 4 commissioner Mallory Jones as its vice-chairman.

Tillman had defeated James Timley on October 15 and won elected office for the first time despite being challenged over residency last year, but was able to stay on the ballot and eventually won.

Report this ad