Skip to main content

See also:

Lucasfilm announces 'Star Wars: Episode VII' cast

Director J.J. Abrams (top middle) sits with the principle cast of "Star Wars: Episode VII".
Director J.J. Abrams (top middle) sits with the principle cast of "Star Wars: Episode VII".
Property of Lucasfilm, used with permission

Finally, "Star Wars: Episode VII" has a cast. Walt Disney Pictures and Lucasfilm officially announced the cast of the highly anticipated flick on Tuesday, April 29, 2014. After a year of speculation, Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, and Carrie Fisher will be returning to the roles that made them legends, and they'll be joined by some new faces, including John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, and Max von Sydow.

Besides the main players in the principle cast, the new trilogy will see the return of some more familiar names playing beloved characters. Anthony Daniels and Kenny Baker will return to play C-3PO and R2-D2, respectively; and Peter Mayhew will return to play Han's trusty sidekick, Chewbacca. Longtime composer John Williams, who scored the previous six films in the saga, will also return to provide the iconic soundtrack.

Director J.J. Abrams, a lifelong fan of the films, helped make the announcement, "We are so excited to finally share the cast of 'Star Wars: Episode VII.' It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again. We start shooting in a couple of weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud."

The new film, set to begin a new trilogy, is being directed by Abrams from a screenplay he worked on with "Empire Strikes Back" scribe, Lawrence Kasdan. Kathleen Kennedy, who took over the LucasFilm regime last year will be producing along with Abrams and his longtime collaborator, Bryan Burk.

"Star Wars: Episode VII" returns the galaxy far, far away to worldwide cinemas on December 18, 2015.