Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. College Sports

LSU's Aaron Nola on National Pitcher of the Year watch list

See also

Right handed pitcher Aaron Nola of the LSU baseball team has been added to the initial Pitcher of the Year watch list according to a report by NOLA on April 25, 2014. Nola, a junior, is currently ranked No. 3 in the nation for strikeouts.

The National Pitcher of the Year award is sponsored by Diamond. The first National Pitcher of the Year watch list of the season includes 47 pitchers from across the nation.

Nola's statistics demonstrate why he is on the initial watch list. In addition to being ranked No. 3 nationally in strikeouts, Nola is ranked No. 5 nationally in ERA. He is currently 7-1 for the season, and leads the SEC in ERA at 0.88 recorded in 71.2 innings.

Nola is consistent on the mound and averages speeds in the low 90’s with his throws. Part of Nola’s success on the mound is due to the change-up ball he delivers that throws batters off. He is also consistent with a low arm slot that produces a sink.

Last year Nola won the SEC Pitcher of the Year award and was a first team All-American. He led the SEC in conference with 91 strikeouts in 2013, and held his opponents to a .159 batting average against his pitching. Nola was also a finalist for the National Pitcher of the Year in 2013 and also won the 2013 Corbett Award. The Corbett Award is presented to the best amateur pitcher in the state of Louisiana each year.

Nola, 6’ 1”, is a Baton Rouge native who graduated from Catholic High School. He is a junior this year, weighing 196 lbs. and is majoring in Sports Administration. Nola’s older brother, Austin Nola, was also a part of the LSU baseball team, playing from 2009-2012. Austin was an All-American shortstop.

The National Pitcher of the Year Award will be presented on June 28, 2014 in Lubbock, Tx. at the National College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions. Last year the award was won by Jonathan Gray from Oklahoma. Gray posted a 10-3 record for the season with 147 strikeouts and a 1.64 ERA.



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Peyton Manning dancing
    Peyton Manning shows off his formidable dancing skills at training camp
    NFL News
  • Bagwell becoming porn star
    Buff Bagwell has the stuff, but his Vivid dreams have not come true just yet
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court