Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Arts & Exhibits

Los Angeles Hip-Hop Concerts: A Fade Not Gone Away

See also

There was a time Hip-Hop was considered a fade that would go away, similar to disco music when people got tired of it, or at least became too embarrassed to embrace what they liked in public. However, one thing the executive minded critics did not considered is that the rappers, the DJs, and the writers, were not making music just to fulfill their spare time; but they were making a movement. Rappers used the medium of music to discuss, entertain, inform, and report on their world that is often overlooked by mainstream media.

Overtime, rap expanded from New York, and came to Los Angeles, were rappers had to prove their style and culture deserved to be listened and respected as well. Although it is often criticized for its misogynist tones and reported as dead, Hip-Hop did not die, nor did it stay stagnate. Instead it spawned into various sub-genres, including conscious, political, spiritual, gangsta, rock, and crunk.

Check out the list of upcoming Hip-Hop concerts that may fit your musical taste.

Constellation Room, Santa Ana

Dead Prez feat. Realizm rekords
Sun Jan 19

The Observatory, Santa Ana
Juicy J
Wed Jan 29

Curren$y feat. Asem Pria
Sat Feb 1

Action Bronson
Fri Feb 7

Immortal Technique
Sat Feb 8

Sage Francis
Thu Feb 13

2 Chainz w/ Pusha T
Thu Feb 20

House of Blues – WEHO

Immortal Technique
Thu Feb 6

Nipsey Hussle
Sun Feb 16 & Mon Feb 17

Yost Theater
Method Man
Sun Jan 26

Gaslamp, Long Beach
Ying Yang Twins
Sat Feb 15

Hip-Hop Docs: The Field, & The Birth of The Conscious Era Doc

Advertisement

Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Video
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    Camera
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    Camera
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    Camera
    5 Photos