Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Logan Stieber selected Ohio State's Male Athlete of the Year for 2014

Logan Stieber named Ohio State's 2014 Male Athlete of the Year
Photo courtesy of Tony Rotundo,, used with permission

Logan Stieber, who won his third NCAA and Big Ten wrestling titles this year, has been selected as Ohio State’s Male Athlete of the Year for 2014, the Columbus-based school announced Tuesday.

Catherine Shields of the rowing team was named 2014 Female Athlete of the Year.

A junior from Monroeville, Ohio, Stieber became the first Buckeye to win three individual NCAA titles. At the 2014 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships, Stieber dominated the 141-pound bracket, winning four of his five matches with bonus points. That was the trend throughout his 2013-14 season, as Stieber earned bonus points in 28 of his 30 wins. Stieber led the nation with 11 technical falls, and tallied ten pins and seven major decisions. His career record of 90-3 translates to a winning percentage of 96.8%, which ranks No. 1 all-time for Ohio State wrestlers.

In addition, Stieber is only the second Buckeye to have won three Big Ten conference titles, joining Kevin Randleman, who did it in 1991-1993.

Stieber is now the second Ohio State wrestler to have earned Male Athlete of the Year honors since the award’s inception in 1992. J Jaggers, two-time NCAA champ and now assistant wrestling coach for the Scarlet and Gray, received the award as a senior in 2009.

Stieber and Shields will be on the ballot for Big Ten Athletes of the Year with 22 other nominees. Selected members of the media who regularly cover each Big Ten institution will vote for the winners of the awards.

Stieber isn’t the only Big Ten wrestler to be selected as his school’s Male Athlete of the Year. Penn State named two-time NCAA champ and two-time Hodge Trophy winner David Taylor for the honor on Tuesday.

Report this ad