Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Local hip-hop artists collaborate on free Yo! MKE Raps Mixtape

Last Tuesday, 19 of Milwaukee's preeminent hip-hop artists came together under the tutelage of rapper JC Poppe to release the newest in a burgeoning line of Milwaukee-based mixtapes, Yo! MKE Raps.

Well known artists such as Kid Millions and Prophetic (whose follow up to 2008's "Pharell tested, Jay-Z approved" Mo' Profit, Mo' Progress is slated for a Spring 2010) are joined by the likes of Streets N Young Deuces, Yo-Dot, DNA, House of M, and Fresh Cut Collective.

Stand out tracks include the Parliament-Funkadelic-esque "Victim to the Beat" and Yo-Dot and Prophetic's "Another Level". "Blackberries" is worth a listen, if only for the references to Riversplash and Pizza Shuttle.

The album is available exclusively at, and the official press release can be found on JC Poppe's myspace.



Today's top buzz...

  • Mariah Carey
    Mariah Carey requires kittens before a show, but that's not the strangest celebrity rider
    Music Buzz
  • Clayton Kershaw
    Watch Clayton Kershaw throw a ball at Jimmy Kimmel
    Today's Buzz
  • Jessie J
    Jessie J enlists Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj for her new song 'Bang Bang'
    Music Buzz
  • Journey
    Journey and Steve Miller jam out at the Shoreline Amphitheater
    16 Photos
  • Batman
    Batman and Robin Originals reveal comedy secrets at Comic-Con press conference
    12 Photos
  • Metta World Peace
    Metta World Peace gets physical during the Venice Basketball League game
    Sports Buzz