Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Little Fish Records announces a hot show to ward off the chill of winter

See also

“Coming in From the Cold”, Carlos Jones and the PLUS Band along with Umojah Nation at the Beachland Ballroom

Little Fish Records has announced that Carlos Jones & The PLUS Band (Peace, Love and Unity Syndicate) will be performing at the Beachland Ballroom with Umojah Nation on Saturday, January 18, 2014. The show begins at 9:00 p.m. Beachland Ballroom is located at 15711 Waterloo Road, Cleveland, Ohio. Tickets are $10 in advance and $12 the day of the show. Doors open at 8:00 p.m. and all ages are welcomed.

Carlos Jones is considered by many to be the “iron man” of reggae in the Cleveland area. Carlos began his career in the late 70’s as a sideman (percussion/vocals) with I-Tal later becoming the front man for the rock/reggae group First Light for 14 years. From there he formed the PLUS Band focusing on a rootiser reggae sound with uplifting positive messages.

This past year, Jones has been keeping up a busy touring schedule as well as collaborating with other artists. Recently, he teamed with hot new Jamaican producer, Mantis Tan Tan who brought Carlos in to sing on a track by reggae artist Jr. Blessington as well as contributing vocals on a song written by Hawaiian reggae, Marty Dread’s “Stop Misleading the Youth”. There is talk of putting together a music video for the song when Dread comes to Cleveland for his House of Blues show on February 22, 2014. Jones has also been in demand as a percussionist, having played on the 2013 Winslow CD – “Left of the Right Direction”.

Umojah Nation was founded by husband/wife team Stefano and Tracey Nguma and features four female performers singing in harmony as part of Northeast Ohio’s newest reggae band. The group’s name comes from the Swahili word for unity. The group has its base in Jamaican and dancehall while possessing an original style of their own.

LITTLE FISH RECORDS (LFR) is a Cleveland-based record label presenting the finest local and regional sounds within a variety of genres, including Reggae, World, Americana, Blues, Folk, Jazz, and Rock. LFR is a division of Cross Track Music, Inc., a full-service provider of artist services, including management, promotions, distribution, bookings, publishing, foreign licensing, mobile marketing (through its Music America subsidiary), and video production.


Today's top buzz...

  • Weird Al
    Weird Al is making sure you don't forget about his new album by releasing a video every day
    Music Buzz
  • Mike Priefer
    The Vikings suspend Mike Priefer for three games after allegations of anti-gay remarks
    Today's Buzz
  • Beer
    Outdoor festival to celebrate beer and superheroes during San Diego Comic-Con
    Comic-Con News
  • Mayhem Tour
    The Rockstar Energy Mayhem Tour rolls through Detroit with insane performances
    19 Photos
  • Supernatural
    As fans wait for new episodes, we are sharing 'Supernatural' season 10 spoilers
    10 Photos
  • Chris Jericho
    WWE Battleground brought fans some big shockers at the pay-per-view-event
    Fight Sports