Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Listen: Shakira unleashes new single 'Empire' from her self-titled album

See also

Colombian singer-songwriter Shakira premiered her new single "Empire" via YouTube on Monday. She slows things down and gets a lot more emotional on the rock ballad.

"Empire" is the latest single from Shakira's new album. It follows the reggae-tinged pop track "Can't Remember to Forget You" with Rihanna. While the aforementioned song was an upbeat affair, Shakira puts her vocal prowess at the forefront of "Empire" to deliver something more powerful.

Strings and some piano usher in "Empire" as Shakira sings of a sublime and celestial romance. Her emotions build with each lyric before she delivers a mighty performance over heavier production. "Like the empires of world unite / We are alive," Shakira belts with power. "Empire" is a formidable ballad injected with Shakira's rock music heart and soul.

Shakira's self-titled album will be released on March 25. She recently returned to her spinning red chair on NBC's "The Voice" this season.

For e-mail updates whenever a new article is posted, please subscribe at the top of the page; also follow me on Twitter @MyPrerogative15.


Today's top buzz...

  • Jack White
    Reddit users have fun photoshopping an angry Jack White at a Cubs game
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Kliff Kingsbury reads a series of flattering tweets praising his good looks
    Today's Buzz
  • Jamaal Charles
    Kansas City Chiefs make Jamaal Charles the second highest paid running back in NFL
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Nikki Bella
    How will fans react if the WWE decides to turn Nikki Bella into a heel?
    5 Photos

Related Videos: