Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Listen: Kylie Minogue's Record Store Day exclusive release 'Golden Boy' surfaces

See also

Australian pop singer Kylie Minogue released her song "Golden Boy" on Saturday (April 19) in honor of Record Store Day. The shimmering dance track did not make her latest album "Kiss Me Once" but now fans can own a copy of it on vinyl record.

"Golden Boy" was originally listed a Japanese bonus track on Minogue's album "Kiss Me Once" along with "Voodoo," a song penned by Sky Ferreira. Both were replaced when the album was finally released in that region. "Voodoo" remains unreleased but fans can dust off their record players and listen to "Golden Boy" thanks to Record Store Day.

According to Chartshaker, about 1,000 copies of "Golden Boy" were pressed for release on Record Store Day in the U.K. As of press time, most of them are probably scooped up and will probably surface on eBay later today. "Golden Boy" may be a leftover from the "Kiss Me Once" album but it is a truly a great track worthy of its own special release.

Video game-like electronica opens the track before shimmering synths set in and back Kylie as she sings about her "Golden Boy." Minogue is head over heels for the guy when she coos, "Now I'm banging on your door just like four up on the floor / This is happening to soon / Why are we battling the mood?" Like the rest of the songs on her album "Kiss Me Once," "Golden Boy" is an enchanting dance track that will leave you completely enamored with Kylie.

The "Golden Boy" single was released on April 19 in the U.K. Minogue's "Kiss Me Once" album dropped last month in the U.S. and it peaked at no. 31 on the Billboard 200 chart. Kylie previewed the album with lead single "Into the Blue" and she is getting ready to follow it up with the Pharrell Williams-produced track "I Was Gonna Cancel."


Today's top buzz...

  • La Toya Jackson
    La Toya Jackson hits the club in music video for 'Feels Like Love'
    Music Buzz
  • Kliff Kingsbury
    Italy's Vincenzo Nibali wins the 2014 Tour de France
    Today's Buzz
  • Johnny Manziel
    Here's why there is no need for Jonny Manziel to apologize for his offseason partying
    NFL Buzz
  • Guys and Dolls
    Guys and Dolls at the PACE Center: Community theater at it's finest
    15 Photos
  • Cheap Trick
    Cheap Trick brings an explosive set of hits to Phoenix on their U.S. tour
    20 Photos
  • Most Wanted Man
    'A Most Wanted Man' shows Phillip Seymour Hoffman at his best
    14 Photos

Related Videos:

  • Connections The Doors and Spinal Tap?
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Mick Jagger live during Stones 14 On Fire Tour - Getty
    <iframe width="600" height="365" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Jeff Alan Ross and Joseph Martin Waters
    <iframe width="420" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>