Skip to main content

See also:

Let's skip the matchy-matchy

These items can all be used to get out of the typical routine of styling your LBD. By adding some color, you are sure to attract a lot of attention.
These items can all be used to get out of the typical routine of styling your LBD. By adding some color, you are sure to attract a lot of attention.
www.gojane.com

Sometimes playing matchmaker can be a good thing. For instance, you want to set two good friends up on a date or you want to match up color palettes to decorate your room – those are perfect examples of appropriate times for matchmaking. Yet, other times playing matchmaker is simply a no-no – like when you match your shoes with your handbags. You’re not stuck in old times where it was “hip” to match your accessories – it’s a brand new year and it’s time you showcase that with your style.

The Strappy Floral Print Platform sandals are a great way to add some extra oomph to the LBD.
The Strappy Floral Print Platform sandals are a great way to add some extra oomph to the LBD.
www.gojane.com

This particular topic came to mind after last night’s dinner. I went to an amazing restaurant with a girlfriend and as we were enjoying our meal, a couple walked in – nothing unusual of course. But once the hostess led them to their table, the guy helped his gal with her coat (love it!) and then I saw the biggest oops! The girl was wearing a classic LBD (a.k.a. – little black dress), her hair was styled in loose waves, which added some extra oomph to the dress but her accessories were all wrong! She wore brown pumps – alligator style – and a brown alligator handbag. Okay, yes, each piece by itself is incredible – I admit that! BUT adding both of these pieces together just screams fashion suicide! Just because they are the same color and style does not mean they work well together.

RULE 1: There are NO rules as to what colors match! Have fun with your combination and show off your personality. Try pairing your LBD with some red strappy sandals and perhaps an oversized metallic bag. Whatever you choose make sure it showcases who you are and skip the matching!

So here are some shoes and bags that I personally love to help you get out of the rut and go from a total don’t to a knockout do so feel free to mix and match! And P.S. – all these styles come from GoJane.com so they are all so very affordable!

The Leopard Print Platform Pump - http://www.gojane.com/55201-shoes-leopard-print-platform-pump.html

The Slouchy Snake Shield Peep Toe Heel - http://www.gojane.com/54819-shoes-slouchy-snake-shield-peep-toe-heel.html

The Ruffled Silky Mesh Platform - http://www.gojane.com/54813-shoes-ruffled-silky-mesh-platform.html

The Strappy Floral Print Platform - http://www.gojane.com/52237-shoes-strappy-floral-print-platform.html

The Reptile Textured Clutch - http://www.gojane.com/53147-stuff-reptile-textured-clutch.html

The Textured Studded Handbag - http://www.gojane.com/53925-stuff-textured-studded-handbag.html

What do you think of these styles? Email me at anna_zak21@yahoo.com and visit me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Anna-Zak-Aurora-Fashion-Examiner/115608665183137. XOXO!

Comments