Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Left Coast Chamber Ensemble will present a concert of ‘summer reading’

See also

Next month’s concert by the Left Coast Chamber Ensemble (LCCE) will be entitled Summer Reading. Two literary sources will be cited explicitly. The program will include chamber excerpts from Thomas Adès’ opera The Tempest and Leoš Janáček’s first string quartet, inspired by Leo Tolstoy’s lurid novella of sexual abstinence, jealousy, and murder, The Kreutzer Sonata. The program will also include Janáček’s "Pohádka" (a tale), which he scored for cello and piano, as well as the cello-piano version of Robert Schumann's Opus 70, an Allegro movement preceded by an Adagio introduction, originally composed for horn and piano. The program will also include the world premiere of a composition by Mika Pelo and Ursula Kwong-Brown's "Sonnet XX" for solo cello, both of which were inspired by the poetry of William Shakespeare. The instrumental resources for this concert will consist of a string quartet (violinists Anna Presler and Phyllis Kamrin, violist Kurt Rohde, and cellist Tanya Tompkins), piano (Zivian), and clarinet (Jerome Simas).

This concert will take place at 8 p.m. on Monday, June 9, in the Recital Hall of the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. Single tickets will be sold at the door for $30 general admission with $15 admission for patrons aged 35 and under. Tickets may be purchased online from the event page for this concert on Brown Paper Tickets. For further information about this concert call 415-617-5223 (LCCE).


Today's top buzz...

  • Backstreet Boys
    The Backstreet Boys have canceled several upcoming Israel shows, citing safety concerns
    Music Buzz
  • NFL
    The NFL is considering adding a stadium to Los Angeles, but is it a good idea?
    NFL Buzz
  • Hulk Hogan
    Hulk Hogan and Steve Austin are on board for this year's WWE SummerSlam
    WWE News
  • Paul McCartney
    Get an exclusive look at Paul McCartney's soundcheck for a recent performance
    20 Photos
  • Oscar contenders
    Oscar season is about to begin as fall festivals announce films
    9 Photos
  • Sammy Hagar
    Sammy Hagar is taking fans on a raucous history of rock on the road
    20 Photos