Skip to main content

See also:

Last album recorded by Robin Gibb to be released in September

The cover of Robin Gibb's forthcoming "50 St. Catherine's Drive" album.
The cover of Robin Gibb's forthcoming "50 St. Catherine's Drive" album.
Estate of Robin Gibb - used by permission.

Robin Gibb's final solo album featuring a collection of unreleased songs and a new version of a song originally done by the Bee Gees will be released Sept. 29 by Warner/Reprise/Rhino, it was announced Wednesday by Robin Gibb's estate. The album, titled, “50 St. Catherine's Drive,” features 17 tracks and was compiled by his wife Dwina and son RJ. It includes the last songs written and recorded by Gibb. 50 St. Catherine's Drive was the address where Robin Gibb was born in 1949 in Douglas on the Isle of Man.

All the tracks on the album were written or co-written by Robin Gibb with songwriting contributions from his son RJ. According to a description of the album, it is a collection of songs mainly recorded between 2006 and 2008 but never released.

The track list includes “Sydney,” the last song written sung by Gibb, which is presented as a demo. “Robin composed this late at night, in August 2011, at our home, The Prebendal,” said wife Dwina. “He used the bedroom keyboards and then Garageband on an iPad. He wished to finish this song in a studio with Barry, for a new album he hoped they would record together, but his health prevented this. He missed his twin brother Maurice who had passed away, but when he closed his eyes, the three young brothers were back in Sydney, Australia, happy together with their dreams and hopes for the future.

“Their future creations of course affected the world. This fragment of song is poignant, wistful, beautiful and unfinished. It belongs on this album as one of his last works. He cried when he wrote it, and I wept when I heard it.”

The track list for “50 St. Catherine Street”: “Days Of Wine and Roses,” “Instant Love,” “Alan Freeman Days,” “Wherever You Go, “I Am The World” (new version), “Mother Of Love,” “Anniversary,” “Sorry,” “Cherish,” “Don’t Cry Alone,” “Avalanche,” “One Way Love,” “Broken Wings,” “Sanctuary,” “Solid,” “All We Have Is Now,” “Sydney” (demo).