Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

Lana Del Rey releases 'Brooklyn Baby' the fourth track off 'Ultraviolence'

See also

Brooklyn is definitely in the house.

Lana Del Rey goes back to her Brooklyn roots in this beautiful serene ballad that captures all the elements of a modern day love story.

Following success from her 2012 album, Born To Die, the melancholic singer transitions from her signature jazz sound to a mature dark vibe in Ultraviolence, her fourth studio album produced by The Black Keys’, Dan Auerbach. “West Coast,” “Shades of Cool,” and the self-titled track “Ultraviolence,” are examples of romanticism while maintaining retro beats.

Del Rey breathlessly sings, “they say I’m too young to love you/ I don’t know what I need/ they think I don’t understand the freedom land of the seventies.”

The passion flows through the lyrics as she makes a reference to the generational gap and vulnerability of falling in love with an older man. “Well my boyfriend's in the band/ he plays guitar while I sing Lou Reed,” belts out Del Rey. “Yeah my boyfriend’s pretty cool/ but he’s not as cool as me/ cause I’m a Brooklyn baby.”

She emphasizes on the hip Brooklyn attitude she acquired from living in New York and gives homage to borough that granted her opportunities at underground music venues.

The track is refreshing, mature and down to earth. The folkloric guitar strings combine wonderfully with her soft angelic voice leaving romantic imprints for the young and the restless.

"Ultraviolence" will be released on June 13. Check out the list of tracks and bonuses below.

1) "Cruel World"
2) "Ultraviolence"
3) "Shades Of Cool"
4) "Brooklyn Baby"
5) "West Coast"
6) "Sad Girl"
7) "Pretty When You Cry"
8) "Money Power Glory"
9) "F***ed My Way Up To The Top"
10) "Old Money"
11) "The Other Woman"
12) "Black Beauty" (Bonus track)
13) "Guns And Roses" (Bonus track)
14) "Florida Kilos" (Bonus track)


Related Videos:

  • Mack Avenue SuperBand turns up 2013 Detroit Jazz Fest live album
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Irish Musician Hozier
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Seattle drummer flexes songwriting skills in provocatively named ‘Poontet’
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>