Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Kyle Busch wins the Coors Light Pole Award for Martinsville

Kyle Busch wins the pole at Martinsville, Friday, March 28, 2014
Photo by Jeff Curry/Getty Images

Kyle Busch has won the pole at Martinsville Speedway Friday afternoon for the 65th Annual STP 500 with a lap of 18.998 seconds or 99.674 mph. Busch has not won the pole position in the last 23 races.

This is the first pole Busch has scored at Martinsville Speedway in 19 races and the 14th pole in 335 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races.

With Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Denny Hamlin, who was absent at Fontana for medical reason, is starting in the second position knocking off the Team Penske streak for the front row.

JGR was the only team that had all three cars go on to the second qualifying round. Matt Kenseth will start sixth.

Even with the Team Penske having been knock off the front row, Joey Logano, with a first round speed of 100,201 mph, broke the previous track record set on October 25, 2013 by Hamlin with 99.595 mph.

Logano will start third 0.023 seconds behind Hamlin and 0.047 second behind the pole sitter Busch. Jimmie Johnson, and Hendrick teammate Jeff Gordon will start fourth and fifth respectively.

The half mile track is beginning to look like a favorite for Danica Patrick, who will start 10th, making this her highest start at a non-restrictor plate race; her previous highest start had been 21st at Atlanta and New Hampshire. Last season Patrick finished 12th for the spring race and 17th at the fall race at Martinsville.

David Reutimann failed to qualify, having tied his lap time with Landon Cassill, but Cassill having more driver owner points will make the race.

Race coverage begins Sunday, March 30 at 1:00 p.m. eastern standard time on Fox.

Report this ad