Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

Kyle Busch wins Nationwide pole at Indianapolis

Kyle Busch celebrates his pole-winning run at Indianapolis
Kyle Busch celebrates his pole-winning run at Indianapolis
Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Kyle Busch turned a 50.031-second/179.888 mph lap at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Saturday to claim the pole starting spot for the Lilly Diabetes 250 NASCAR Nationwide Series race that's scheduled to take the green flag later in the day at the track. It will be Busch's second pole in only three Nationwide Series races at IMS. He'll be joined on the front row by his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate and another Sprint Cup Series regular, Matt Kenseth, on the front row.

Ty Dillon was the highest-qualifying Nationwide Series championship-eligible driver, claiming the third spot on the starting grid with a 50.448-second/178.402 mph lap in the third and final round of qualifying. As one of the four drivers eligible for the Indy Nationwide Dash 4 Cash $100,000 bonus, he'll be the one of the four starting closest to the front. But another Dash 4 Cash driver, last weekend's race winner Chase Elliott, will just be one row back, starting in the third row in the fifth position. Dillon will be joined on the second row by another Sprint Cup regular, Kevin Harvick. Elliott was also start next to a Cup regular, as Joey Logano will start in the third row in the sixth position.

Nationwide regulars Regan Smith and Chris Buescher will start in seventh and eighth in row four, while Paul Menard and Brian Scott line up in row five. Scott is also a Dash 4 Cash Indianapolis bonus-eligible driver.

Trevor Bayne, the final driver eligible for the bonus at Indy, will start just outside the top-10 in 11th and will be joined on the front row by Elliott Sadler.

Forty-two drivers made qualifying attempts for the 40-car race. The two drivers not getting in the race were Kevin Lepage and Tommy Joe Martins.

Dillon led the way in the first round of qualifying with the fastest lap time of 50.263 seconds (179.058 mph), followed by Kenseth and Logano. In the second round, though, Sprint Cup regulars were atop the scoring pylon, with Logano, Busch, Harvick, Menard and Kenseth posting the five fastest laps. The fastest Nationwide regular in round two was Scott.

Report this ad